Ripping off Songs!

in #music6 years ago

If you write songs, this is very easy to do!

A friend of mine Bubbles , brought a CD him and his Band had recorded , left it with Chris,and asked me to have a listen to track number 4 , ( which he felt was the Hit!)

I listened to it, called him back ,and gave him the Bad News.

"Congratulations, you have just done Bad Company's song , Feel Like Making Love, with other Lyrics!"

Response was Noooooooo!

Here is a set of Lyrics I wrote a few years back, and when singing them , I realised that they fit the Tune of Greenday's " Basket Case" , perfectly!

https://steemit.com/lyrics/@awgbibb/officialdom

When I finally start laying down my tracks ( 2018 is my plan) and retake over the world , I will add a different twist to that!

Well, at least I realised it before having myself appear on a YouTube expose like the above!

The video appears courtesy of YouTube, not my property.

Enjoy listening to these famous People , and who says a tune cannot be a hit twice? ( but behind closed doors , I am sure some Cash changed Hands!)

Sort:  

totally agree, knew there was quite a lot of ripped of songs.

vanilla ice and queen on really stood out, sounds exactly the same.

Oh I was very shocked when I listened the cold play songs..
I will haven't known those song's truth until I read this post that
you distinguish original with ripping off song.

When you write a song , there are 2 things that you "register", Lyrics and Melody.

Well, I think there's nothing terrible, let it be a 2 time hit. It's very cool. Thank you for sharing.

@awgbibb,
I don't think you want to bother about track hits one time! Just bring us what you made!

Cheers~

Some of the tracks were quite subtle and others so blatant.... Makes you wonder how much money had changed hands and how many law suites there were?

Lil that's kinda paradoxical you gave him a bad news that's he's done a bad a bad company song? Hahahaha did he detect the sarcasm?

There are so many songs out there that are very similar to other songs :) Even as a songwriter myself i sometimes think hmmm that sounds familiar... when you think of the million songs out there in the world it's very easy to have similar tunes :)

Only 12 basic notes in music, had to happen. Often find myself whistling some great melody , and then realise it belongs to someone else!

Music Is Awesome

Thanks For Sharing!! Radiohead's latest stuff is pretty amazing...

Some people start with lyrics first, then add instrumentals, others vice versa. Personally, I like to start with the instrumentation, in most cases. Sometimes I record instruments myself (I also do some small level production with beats and the like, and play a few different instruments), but I collaborate heavily with other artists. If you don't have anybody to collaborate with, and don't play any instrument (I recommend learning one if this is what you'd like to do), there are a number of sites online where you can find instrumentals that are free from promotional or non-profit use. Sound click.com is one example (on select instrumentals), and I'm sure there are numerous others out there. Anyways I have listened to some of these songs and they are absolutely amazing.

Love This Comment. I am taking online classes at www.studybass.com. Andrew says the best way to learn music is to think of your instrument as simply a way of expressing your art. I love that approach. I also heard a quote once where someone said "The bass simply happens to be the crayon that I picked up."

Wow excellent post good article and photography my dear....@awgbibb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73