Building & Studio Owned by the band Live at one time, now is a brewery & distillery

in #music6 years ago

Above this distillery & brewery sits a operating music studio formerly owned by the band Live. A band I happened across back in the early 90's.


Photo Credit: https://lancasterpa.com/thistle-finch-distillery/

Possibly you remember their album Mental Jewelry with songs like Lightning Crashes and Mental Jewelry.

The weather looks to suck this week. Saturday was awesome! Temps were in the upper 70's and sun was shinning brightly. We payed a visit to the Lancaster area of Pennsylvania for half the day before retreating back home just in time before some real nasty thunderstorms. Heavy rain, wind, hail and the works. YUCK!

So I am reminiscing of the great time we had, and decided to knock out another Blind contour drawing to commemorate our brewery themed trip into the city. We hit the Voodoo Brewery beer garden for a few cold ones. The garden opened the previous Friday and is located on Prince Street Park in downtown Lancaster (close to Central Market). They have a pretty cool converted shipping container serving about 8 different brews. I had the triple Belgium style IPA..Super tasty. TACOS Lancaster, which sells tacos from an Airstream trailer, was on site and selling their grub. I had already ate so wasn't feeling it. Must be good though since the line was a bit long.
IMG_9354.JPG

Next we took a walk over to Wacker's Brewery for a few more cold brews. I liked there mix of roughly 8 beers on tap as well. I ordered a coffee stout here which was actually a bit on the light side. Okay by me. They share a space with Thistle Finch Distillery and a recording studio on the second floor. The building was originally owned by the band Live and they had originally built the studio. I could not get up into the studio, but we did decided to take the tour of the distillery and bought a $10 tasting at the end. Informative, but didn't care so much for the whiskey. They are a young company yet so that may change after some seasons pass. I would stop here again in the future, especially since there drafts are only $4 per pint! Great deal I think.
IMG_9355.JPG

Soooo...What did I get out of all of this fun, the reason for the post I suppose. THE DRAWING!! Here it is, A blind contour drawing (remember..one continuous line drawn without looking at the subject..thus blind) of a row of beer bottles. I couldn't help myself after such a fun day spent drinking.

IMG_8278.JPG
By BDMiller ~ Currently Unnamed

I'm thinking about setting up a still life and trying my eye/hand at drawing blind a whiskey theme. We'll see..Stay tuned.

Anybody do anything exciting this weekend??

Sort:  

Cute! Love it..HUGS to you.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87