Rock Band Series - Bands that left too soon - Pride Tiger

in #music6 years ago (edited)

So I am getting all these music series going, hope I can keep them up. Here is my first in a series of bands that should have dominated, they released a first album that was really good, what happened to them? They are gone after one album.

Pride Tiger

Pride Tiger formed in Canada in 2005. The original band consisted of vocalist and drummer Matt Wood, guitarists Bob Froese and Sunny Dhak, and bassist Mike Payette. The name Pride Tiger came from a Dio song "Ride the Tiger" and Pride Pop, a drink that was similar to an apple cider. They released an EP in 2006. with a follow up CD released on EMI Canada in 2007 called The Lucky Ones.

Here is the title cut off that album:

The album had a single that was released that same year, White Witch Woman Blues that was playlisted on CBC (Canadian Broadcasting).

Many people thought they sounded a lot like Thin Lizzy, myself included. This song is a classic example, Fill Me In:

I was first made aware of this group by my son @jakeybrown, and then it was highlighted by Classic Rock Music magazine which I had a subscription to and was part of a sampler disc for Powerage Records in the late 2000's.
Pride Tiger toured and were a popular touring band including playing at the South by Southwest Festival.
Here's a live cut of What It Is, another cut from their first (and only) album.

Sadly for fans of the group, they split up in 2009 and two of the original members started a coffee shop (Froesse and Payette) and never played again. Which is really too bad. This was a group that had a lot of potential and I really liked them. Potential unfulfilled.

Thanks for reading my music post. Short and sweet.

@bigskycustoms

Sort:  

Nice. I like the first one. Not really my style but its cool.

thanks for commenting. what is your style?

Well, I like a lot of different music. Here is one of my favorite artists from old:

Van Morrison is good, I like that song a lot

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

thank you for the upvote from the @illuninati-inc music team and @curie.

Love me some pride tiger, surprised they didn't stay together

It is too bad but sounds like they got out of music

I can really hear the Thin Lizzy as well. Especially in the vocals and guitars. Too bad they did not last.

yeah it was the first thing I noticed about this band, how much they sounded like TL. I liked them a lot. It is too bad.

I agree with the Thin Lizzy connection. Anyway I liked a lot this album.
By the way, I'm also a subscriber of Classic Rock Magazine!

I dropped my subscription to Classic Rock a couple years about (or maybe about a year and half). I liked it but it was pretty expensive here in the US, and I was just cutting back on my subscriptions. They put out the Blues one also which I liked too and bought the first 20 or so of those

Yes, of course it's not the same a subscription for a European citizen than an American one. I love opening the mailbox and see the magazine ready to be read! And the cd goes directly to the cd player of my car.

I generally enjoyed the free CDs and lots of times found new bands I liked.

Okay, I've got one for you: Finnigan and Wood , one album - Crazed Hipsters. It's a bit of a 1972 cult album. Not available on CD, just have to listen to it on LP. Some copies on the internet, some recorded better than others. I saw them live twice - close to the top of my list.
Have you heard of them?
Death Letter and Hard Times are done so intense. Mike's vocals make me feel the same as listening to Gary Moore's guitar.
The album has funk, blues, kick-ass rock-n-roll and lots of soul. At the time it was one of the albums that let me know I liked intense music.

no i have never heard of these guys. listening on youtube right now. It might be a bit esoteric for my tastes, it isn't bad stuff. I do like their blues work. Geez, you must be older than me if you saw these guys in concert! :)

Saw them open for Spirit at a small club. And open for Pink Floyd pre-Dark Side. They were one of those bands that their album, while very good, did not capture their live performance at all.
I guess Jerry Wood died some time ago. Michael Finnegan has played keyboards and background vocals for CS&N for a long time. He seems to have his shit together. Meaning, he has survived well. Thanks for checking them out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75