Discovering Tunes ~ New York I Love You, But You’re Bringing Me DownsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago

image

I absolutely love the art of storytelling. Books, movies, television shows...I just love getting wrapped up in a killer tale. With that knowledge, it should come as no surprise that I waste away my life by being immersed into a ton of film and television. I love all types of genres but the meat and potatoes of my stimulation lies in riveting dramas. That’s where I think some of the best stories are told.

A lot of the shows I watch feature some amazing tunes throughout their run. I can’t even count how many times I’ve paused a show to lookup a song that was utilized so well in an episode or scene. I’ve found myself sitting there, enthralled in whatever is unfolding before me...totally digging a tune that my ears never heard before. Sometimes I know the song but it’s so satisfying discovering something new...even if it’s old as in the song I’m going to discuss here.

Enter, Ray Donovan...which is a phenomenal show that airs on Showtime. It currently just finished airing it’s 6th season and will be back for another. Besides a few subplots I could live without (the kids), it’s been stellar year after year. It’s deep and dark with a hint of lightheartedness sprinkled throughout. I’m not going to go into the show itself as I’ll save that for a future write up but if you like good dramas...please do yourself a favor and check out Ray Donovan.

image

Anyway, on the season finale that aired several weeks back, the show opened with a tune that I never heard before. It played in its entirety as the show went through a montage featuring most of the players as to catch the viewer up to the present.

The song is called ”New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down” by LCD Soundsystem. It was released off their album Sound of Silver back in 2007. It starts off pretty mellow and finishes a bit heavier. Overall a beautiful tune. I was surprised that I never heard this song before as I know of the band. Either way I’m glad I heard it. I immediately downloaded it afterwards and it has made its way into my playlist when I’m driving or around the house puttering around.

The cool thing I found out is that there is an “unofficial video” for this. I guess upon release, there was chatter amongst fans and such that the lead singer and founder James Murphy channeled his inner Kermit the Frog for the song in question. So he went ahead and shot this little diddy which is pretty cool. Please check it out and let me know what you think!!

As I mentioned previously, there are a ton of instances where I discovered a tune from watching a show. I’d like to start sharing some of my favorites from these instances here with you guys so expect some more of these to come.

Thanks for taking a peek and listening.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Hehe the song I did know and it is a great song indeed! Hope you did know LCD soundsystem already? such an amazing band😍

But I didn't know this Ray Donovan, to bad I'm reading that its not on Netflix anymore... What channel do you guys see this show?

Hell Yeah I knew of them big not this tune. Another thing I like in these cases is that I end up kinda going down the rabbit hole regarding the band in question and discovering a lot more cool stuff. Such a treat.

Over here in the states it’s on Showtime. Not sure where it would be aired by you but if you like good shows, this is one I highly recommend. Stellar cast and writing. Great character actorsab big players throughout. If you end up checking it out lmk what you think.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17