SUGGESTED SONGS OF THE WEEK: 4

in #music6 years ago

Hey Steemit crowd, it has definitely been a while. I feel like I'm saying this all of the time because of my inconsistency and terribleness with posting on my blog--but hey, college is stressful! Fortunately though, I have just finished finals week and moved out of my down a few days ago, and now I am back home! With that being said, I have a lot more free time (aside from work) to write blogs. So this is me attempting to get back at it again. I am going to start off with writing my fourth "Suggested Songs of the Week" post. This time, I have added a new genre, which is rap. Honestly, I'm not a huge rap person, but I have been trying to expand my music horizon a bit recently, and luckily, I found some stuff that I like. It is always fun to try new things, so I hope that you all find something decent on this list that you wouldn't typically add to your own playlists.

Okay, I'll stop writing now, but here are my suggested songs of the week from various genres, the respective music video, and a brief bit of commentary form yours truly. As always, leave feedback, suggestions, comments, etc.!


ALTERNATIVE ROCK: Rapture by Pedro the Lion

  • So I was at the career center this week, yanno, trying to figure out my life. My adviser is actually a really chill guy who is music savvy and listens to a lot of the same music I do. He recommended this band to me, and I really enjoyed it. I have been listening to their album Control, this whole week. Rapture is probably my favorite song off the album, thus, me recommending it to yall. Also, a side note: I really find the themes of religion in their songs to be interesting, especially in this one.


INDIE ROCK: Olde Type Mem'ry by Mischief Brew

  • One of my favorite things about college so far has been meeting random musicians in the student center and jamming out with them on guitars, piano, drums, etc. One of these musicians was explaining to me his love for the gritty side of the indie rock scene and told me to go listen to this song. He said that this is his favorite song to sing along to when he and his friends sit around on summer nights and get hammered. After listening to this song, this was easy for me to imagine, haha!


ELECTRO-ROCK/EDM: Beam by Petit Biscuit

  • I don't know about you guys, but this song takes my mind to a million places. It is just so interesting, and I am determined to use it as background music for a short film of some sort. This is kind of weird, but it makes me think of the moment an infant is born, and what is seen from the infant's point of view--from being in complete darkness to a world of color. Okay, this is weird--I'm going to stop describing my absurd, artistic visions to you guys, lol.


MODERN ROCK: Shattered by O.A.R.

  • This is the first O.A.R. song I've ever heard, and made me fall in love with the band at a very young age! I remember being 7 or 8 and just chilling in the car with my dad and brother, and this song always seemed to be playing on the radio. It reminds me of those times, and makes me feel slightly nostalgic. Overall, great song though.


PROGRESSIVE METAL/HARD ROCK: Have Faith in Me by A Day to Remember

  • First of all, A Day to Remember was my favorite band as an edgy teen. I saw them live with Blink 182 and it was a dream come true for me. My 13 year old self would have been living her best life if she saw that concert, haha! But this was my favorite song that they performed, and the lyrics to that song spoke more to me that night than they had any of the other 1000 times I had listened to the song before that. But anyways, if you've ever experienced turmoil in your relationships with others, you might feel this song.


PUNK ROCK: Bukowski by Moose Blood

  • OKAY, STORY TIME. So I love this band and bought tickets to go with my friend a few weeks ago. Well, a few hours before the concert, I was hanging out with my 24 year-old first cousin who was visiting from Florida. We used to be closer as kids, but I literally had not seen him in 12 years, so it was crazy seeing him again. As it turned out, we actually have a lot in common, including our music taste. SO, he asked if he could tag along to this concert with me. It was an absolute blast, and I remember at one point in the night, Moose Blood starting playing this song (Bukowski). I don't know what kind of spirit possessed my cousin to where he felt the need to slam his beer to the ground, push the dude next to him, and scream "MOSH PIT!" So he started a wild mosh pit in front of the stage, and it was seriously insane. Some random guy pushed me to the floor, and my cousin took this guy, picked him up, and launched him across the venue. It was beautiful.


RAP: Starting Over by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

  • I listened to his album, The Heist, from start to finish this week for the first time and was really into it. This was probably my favorite song I came across on the album, and is really powerful--especially for those who have ever been acquainted with the demons of the addiction. This is some very raw stuff. Props to Macklemore for actually rapping about something dignified and relevant.
Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17