Drake - Scorpion Album Review - 06 July 2018

in #music6 years ago

So the worlds softest rapper is back with a new album, the Canadian rap artist who took his feelings mainstream and bridged the gap between hip-hop, rap and R&B to create his own unique brand of soft rap gives us 25 new tracks to enjoy on his album Scorpion. If you're a Drake fan you probably knew this already and if you're an Apple Music or Spotify user you've definitely had this album forced down your throat in the recommendations section.

So is it worth the hype? I've given it a thorough listen to and here's what I think of the album.

Drake-Scorpion-759x500.jpg

Scorpion Track List

  • 1 - Survival
  • 2 - Nonstop
  • 3 - Elevate
  • 4 - Emotionless
  • 5 - God's Plan
  • 6 - I'm Upset
  • 7 - 8 Out of 10
  • 8 - Mob Ties
  • 9 - Can't Take a Joke
  • 10 - Sandra's Rose
  • 11 - Talk Up (Ft. JAY-Z)
  • 12 - Is There More Lyrics
  • 13 - Peak Lyrics
  • 14 - Summer Games
  • 15 - Jaded
  • 16 - Nice For What
  • 17 - Finesse
  • 18 - Ratchet Happy Birthday
  • 19 - That's How You Feel
  • 20 - Blue Tint
  • 21 - In My Feelings
  • 22 - Don't Matter to Me (Ft. Michael Jackson)
  • 23 - After Dark (Ft. Static Major & Ty Dolla $ign)
  • 24 - Final Fantasy
  • 25 - March 14

My view on the album

On Scorpion, Drake occupies 3 territories throughout. The bravado-fueled rapper who drops rap bangers, a heartbroken boy who mourns melodically over failed romances and the latest addition the big reveal of him becoming a father.

The big hype of this entire album is that he openly admits to being a father on “Emotionless” when he raps, “I wasn’t hiding my kid from the world, I was hiding the world from my kid.” It’s a lukewarm line of faux-sincerity has become so memeable even for Drake. Which is a shame because “Emotionless” is one of the album’s brightest moments, built around a swirling Mariah Carey sample.

Another highlight, “8 Out of 10,” which is slightly dampened by more corny fatherhood references – “The only deadbeats is whatever beats I been rapping to.” It’s not until the album’s last track, “March 14,” that we find Drake engaging wholeheartedly with the topic, addressing the guilt he feels about his son being raised in a single-parent household, the embarrassment of being a ‘co-parent,’ and the hope for a better future with his new family. In a catalogue saturated with soul-baring reflections, “March 14” will surely be remembered as one of Drake’s most revealing numbers.

But before you get to the “March 14” finale, you must sit, dance, and sometimes snore our way through another 24 tracks. It’s a marathon of an album that stretches for almost 90 minutes across two discs.

If you're into soft drake I recommend you hit up

  • After Dark
  • Don't matter to me
  • Final Fantasy
  • Finesse
  • That's how I feel
  • Emotionless

If you're into rapper Drake these tracks will be more your speed

  • Elevate
  • Gods plan
  • I'm upset
  • In my feelings

Personally only 11 tracks on this album are worth a second listen and he would do well to curate his efforts better instead of trying to follow this latest trend of content overload and hoping the more you push out the more people you can appeal to. This album is a step down from More Life in my opinion which had better lyrics, a consistent theme and reasonable runtime, so you're encouraged to come back for second, 3rd and even 30th play.

Best Memes from the scorpion album

Naturally, with any content getting such viral appeal the memes would follow and I've picked out 3 that I found hilarious. If you found any drake memes from the new album feel free to drop it in the comments.

The big reveal

IMG-8592-380x280.jpg

Emotionless

l-37025-girls-writing-down-captions-for-their-instagrams-after-drake-drops-scorpion.jpg

Bringing back MJ

pizizzle-drake-going-to-the-afterlife-to-find-mj-for-34478436.png

Have your say

Have you listened to Scorpion by Drake? What did you make of it? What is your favourite track on the album? Let me know in the comments!

Liked this post?

Smash that upvote or hit me up with a resteeem if you liked this post

Resteem, follow, upvote

Follow me

If you don't already, consider following me @chekohler

Follow me

Sort:  

You got a 95.78% upvote from @cabbage-dealer courtesy of @chekohler!
Delegate today and earn a 100% share of daily rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04