A Trip Down Music Memory Lane

in #music6 years ago (edited)

One by one we’ve liquidated nearly every worldly possession we have other than what can fit into one suitcase and one backpack each. My vinyl LP collection was one of them: 33’s, 45’s, 7 incher’s, 10”, 12” you name it! A couple thousand pieces spanning from the early 1950’s to the start of the 21st century.

All of my electronic (drum n bass, jungle, house, etc) vinyl was easy to find a new home for. The longest running record store around here (57 years and counting) grabbed all of those. 1/4 of the collection was gone, piece o’ cake! There was a lot of 1960-70’s rock n roll - The same records you’ll find in the bins at a record store today collecting dust. A few vintage joints around here claimed those from me. Soundtracks, various genres and languages, holiday music, children’s and gospel music, it was all there - All vinyl.

As I was thumbing through them, assessing values, I found this record titled: The Concert For Bangladesh - A 3-piece vinyl set. I’ve never played it. I have no idea how it sounds or plays and other than it being in mint condition, I didn’t know anything about it. I know it somehow made its way to my collection but that’s it! I looked it up and learned it sells as high as $500 usd - That’s quite a bit for a record, I was surprised. I was curious what makes this record so valuable. So I did some research and this is what I discovered:

EC61E7C5-AAF8-4DCF-86FA-99515BA0CF25.jpeg
”A Trip Down Music Memory Lane”

In 1947, Pakistan was formed following the British departure from India. The territory was divided in two: East Pakistan and West Pakistan. They were separated by India, 1,000 miles of neutral territory. West Pakistan would eventually become Pakistan we all know today and East Pakistan became Bangladesh. Before the two separated, Dictatorial Rule by West Pakistan generated a lot violence and hostility. The Bengali, occupying East Pakistan, wanted equal treatment:

9C519F4C-F461-480A-9E98-ECFACBE786C0.jpeg

687B3770-7CCC-45A0-935E-CCA8D3A544A8.jpeg

In 1969, Yahya Khan assumed authority over Pakistan and vowed to end the Dictatorship and replace it with Democracy. For the very first time in history a free election was held in Pakistan in 1970 and the majority of the votes came from Bangladesh. (East Pakistan) Bangladesh won the election and rightfully earned the authority to form Pakistan’s first ever Democratic Government. It was a huge victory for the Bangali and celebration followed.

Yahya Khan and West Pakistan did not anticipate losing the election. In response to the results, they refused to give up their authority and denied East Pakistan the right to form a Democratic Government. The elected results were eventually disregarded in 1971.

Immediately following the disregarded results was a deliberate attempt by West Pakistan to exterminate the entire Bangali nation. Over one million Bengali’s were murdered, and to date, more than 10 million terrorist attacks have been ordered by Pakistan against Bangladesh. It has been referred to as “undoubtedly the greatest atrocity since Hitler’s extermination of the Jews.”

To avoid death, Bengali’s sought refuge in neighboring India, who, as a nation, were struggling to inhabit their own citizens. Even as refugees made their escape for India, they often suffered from lack of sanitation, housing and starvation.

Ravi Shankar is a native Bengali as well as a world renown classical musician. He wanted to do something to help his people. His relatives and friends who couldn’t escape were being murdered as their homes and land were being destroyed. He wanted to organize a music benefit and the proceeds would assist the refugees of his country.

He asked many different organizations from Europe and America to support his cause and within a few short months he was making progress. He thought they would be able to do a benefit fund by the end of the year and possibly raise as much as $50k. But he needed to accomplish this goal soon, his people were suffering, he didn’t want to wait until the end of the year. In June, 1971, he went to California hoping to enlist some assistance:

424C098B-5B93-4BB3-BDEA-0DEC5778652B.jpeg
source

That was the same time George Harrison, guitarist for The Beatles, was in California making an album for the soundtrack of the film ‘Raga.’ The two crossed paths - Ravi asked George for guidance and asked if he had any suggestions. Before hearing the idea of a benefit concert, George showed genuine interest and asked Ravi for more information.

It wasn’t just what Ravi had said, George began reading what other countries were saying: Norway, England, Germany, France and America. George Harrison was deeply concerned for the suffering and carnage that was taking place in Bangladesh. That’s when he contacted Ravi and as Ravi recalls, “things moved very fast then!”

George contacted Ringo Starr who was working with Leon Russell and a handful of musicians at the time, many of which were still looking for their big break. In less than five weeks; George, Ringo, Ravi and Leon organized and successfully orchestrated The Concert For Bangla Desh, which led to the production of the 3-piece LP: An event that sold out Madison Square Garden in New York City in August, 1971 and attracted more than 50,000 supporters collecting a total of $244,418.50 USD that was donated to Bengladesh refugees. The artists who came together that day to oppose the violence in Bangladesh are:

Jackie Kelso. Bob Dylan. Ravi Shankar. Ollie Mitchell. Ringo Starr. Chuck Findlay. Billy Preston. Leon Russell. Ustad Ali Akbar Kahn. Ustad Alla Rakah. Kamala Chalravarty. Eric Clapton. Klaus Voormann. Badfinger. Pete Ham. Tom Evans. Joey Molland. Mike Gibbons. Allan Beutler. Jesse Ed Davis. Marlin and Jeanie Greene. Jo Green. Jim Horn. Dolores Hall. Carl Radle. Don Preston. Don Nix. Claudia Linnear. Jim Keltner and Lou McCreary.

These are some pictures I took of the LP and its inside components before I adopted it out:

3190A34E-6B68-4661-B9F4-D852FAEC1B72.jpeg

B57D1A5F-7EA2-4595-AF93-FEB4DFB8B349.jpeg
That white sleeve is a 63 page book with pictures and commentary from the concert (some pictured below)

7F3ADC81-D17B-4E63-88AA-CD8B0F435045.jpeg
Cover image

4C47E07C-8332-43AC-8A29-FF97406569AE.jpeg
Backside of album cover (copy of the check)

909EE051-C7DA-4589-A7D4-E248B370EC05.jpeg

75E40A1D-4A2F-489E-A75E-DE5F055272B2.jpeg
Ravi Shankar

EEC025A6-7F5F-40CA-BE3B-916629D37BA8.jpeg
Kamala, Ustad Kahn, Ravi

85EAF35C-6CA3-4974-84B9-52E69B2E87C7.jpeg
George Harrison

6809C8F2-C639-4A74-99BB-F62500551329.jpeg
Eric Clapton

D745469B-0AD1-4D7B-B7CF-FF5AD928778E.jpeg
George Harrison performing Jumpin’ Jack Flash which would later be made famous by another up and comer named Mick Jagger.

EF08B24F-12AA-4B1B-81EA-E366B647D8EB.jpeg
Ringo Starr

5EA36AB7-874E-43E4-9C6A-BF7944FC93CB.jpeg
Credits

2017AF4E-143C-4E3C-9319-E91F95E1EE9E.jpeg

9C14BBC1-9AF1-4E1C-AD88-E999F27193FB.jpeg
Click Here If You Missed Monday’s Post

I’d like to get back to drawing next week, we’ll see how it goes. I’ll see you then!

Sort:  

It was very entertaining to read, I 've never heard of this gig before, and I can't imagine how hectic it must have been to organize!
It shows how we can just change and shape the world, it just about having that first impulse sometimes.
You never know who might be able to help you in life , or who you might be able to help.
Thanks for sharing man !

My pleasure! I was pleasantly surprised to uncover such a deep story, too. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I found that record.

I was looking forward to hearing whether or not you knew the story. Glad we were all able to learn a little something. Happy Friday!

I can't wait for more of those little gems, happy Friday to you!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thank you @illuminati-inc a bajillion times. Thank you for the curation trail.

This is such an old record. You really looked deep into it. Have a little upvote from me! Cheers!

I sure did! I found myself researching from several different areas gathering knowledge. I think because of that actually, I’m most proud of this one. Thank you @fun2learn, I appreciate your support!

I am your new follower from Singapore. Thanks for the upvote for my comment even though I wasn't planning for that. I was mainly getting connected and making new friends! Thanks again and great research!

I hope you liztened to the album before you got rid of it .. lotsa great music there I actually have two copies...haha

Unfortunately, no. I parted with the Technique’s a little while back. I hadn’t discovered the record yet when I still had them. ‘Next time!’

If you realize you only have 1 copy and can’t find your second, I know where I got mine from!

Maybe you can check it out on youtube

Remember that Leroy Neiman I asked you to come down and help me hang?

Well c’mon back down and claim it, it won’t fit in my backpack.

5C340E21-A86F-4F9F-8793-7B73DC0E9D9E.jpeg

It'll always be yours but I'll love to think of Paul and yalls everyday when I look at it. You know you're cooler than permafrost, right?

I’m glad you think so! Eh I’ve always wanted to be cooler than the other side of the pillow.... Feel free to let me know if you think I’m close. 👍🏿

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79