One Year And 4 Days Ago: I Won't Back Down (Tom Petty Cover)

in #music6 years ago

Tom Petty was one of my all time favorites. And inspiration as a singer, performer, and a songwriter. Petty passed away just over a year ago...on October 2nd, 2017.

You may know that I was once in a Tom Petty tribute band. This was the one song that I would perform by myself, without the band. Just me and a guitar. Such a simple, yet perfectly written song about exactly what the lyrics tell you...standing your ground and not backing down. I think of this song often when things get tough. And it helps.

"I Won't Back Down" is from Petty's 1989 solo album Full Moon Fever.

And so, Tom, I pay tribute to you again. I hope you have found peace and bliss, and I hope you are still writing great songs out there. I hope to hear them someday.

I WON'T BACK DOWN
words and music by TOM PETTY

Well, I won't back down
No, I won't back down
You can stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won't back down

No, I'll stand my ground
Won't be turned around
And I'll keep this world from draggin' me down
Gonna stand my ground
And I won't back down

Hey baby, there ain't no easy way out
I won't back down
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won't back down

Well I know what's right
I got just one life
In a world that keeps on pushin' me around
But I stand my ground
And I won't back down

Hey baby, there ain't no easy way out
I won't back down
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won't back down

© Tom Petty

Sort:  

very cool, i remember on the day of 9/11 when he sang this song ... tears, tons of tears. thank you for playing!

Hey you...thanks for taking a listen! This is for sure one of my favorites!

oh yes definitely! :)

Hi, @dinoromanelli!

You just got a 30.62% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Right on you sing Petty nice ;9)

Hey, Gibber! Thank you so much. I love singing Petty, so I'm glad it's a good thing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10