Sam Smith - Stay With Me (cover by Ed Privat)

in #music6 years ago


Hi guys!

Today I am covering the song "Stay With Me" by Sam Smith, from his first debut album "In The Lonely Hour".
I've discovered today that they had to split the royalties with Tom Petty because the song was too similar to his song "I won't back down"

I went to listen to it and I can hear the similarities, that's actually the same melody and chord progression

As usual I leave you with the lyrics, I hope you have a great week!

"Stay With Me"

Guess it's true, I'm not good at a one-night stand
But I still need love 'cause I'm just a man
These nights never seem to go to plan
I don't want you to leave, will you hold my hand?
Oh, won't you stay with me?
'Cause you're all I need
This ain't love, it's clear to see
But, darling, stay with me
Why am I so emotional?
No, it's not a good look, gain some self-control
And deep down I know this never works
But you can lay with me so it doesn't hurt
Oh, won't you stay with me?
'Cause you're all I need
This ain't love, it's clear to see
But, darling, stay with me
Oh, won't you stay with me?
'Cause you're all I need
This ain't love, it's clear to see
But, darling, stay with me
Oh, won't you stay with me? (Oh won't you stay, won't you stay)
'Cause you're all I need
This ain't love, it's clear to see (This ain't love, no, no)
But, darling, stay with me


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I love this song and your cover is so awesome!!!

Thanks I love it too, I am gonna learn one of the new ones from his latest album as well

What an interesting ‘fun fact’ about the Tom Petty rights. “Take that Sam, come up with your Ish.”

Ed, you sure are a consistent mofo! Thank you, happy Monday.

Hahaha I wonder how much Tom made with that copyright claim :) that's probably the type of claim that get you sorted for a bunch of years
thanks for passing by Happy Monday !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13