A Broken Venue = A Broken Heart

in #music6 years ago

A few days ago, I was driving in town and needed to go to the mall. I was stuck in the jam for too long and decided to take a break from the bad traffic. Decided to pull over an empty parking lot just to kill time and maybe get something to drink while I was at it. As I was parking, I realized that the old seafood restaurant ballroom doors were opened and decided to go and check it out.

Few years ago, my friend got married and held their grand dinner there and the place was nicely done with proper lighting, cold air conditioning, clean and it was really a nice venue that could have so much possibilities. However, I knew that not too long after, word on the street was that the establishment was sold to a foreign buyer for an extensive amount and ever since, I've never really bothered to go back.

Well, a friend of mine who runs a fight gym here in Kota Kinabalu told me he had just held a MMA competition there and he expressed that the venue was in a really sorry state. Not too sure why the fighting octagon was left there but I guess it will get sorted out soon enough. So without keeping you in suspense, here are the pictures below:



After my inspection, I was really gutted to see the place in that condition. No air conditioning, lights, sound system, tables, chairs, the toilets were unusable and unbearable as water has been cut off (use your imagination) and I think the venue now has squatters living in it as well. I hope that someday, it will be done up nicely again and it will be nice to be able to use for the local community. The location in really ideal because it is in town and the transportation hub is just a few minutes walk away. I would really love to run events there. For now, I can only hope and pray that it will be operational soon. Sorry if this isn't a happy, positive post if you were expecting one.


Sort:  

Yes, it is. Let's hope for the best

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Oh damn... this is really wasted. Hopefully someone with enough capital can build it back

Yes. It could hold many promising productions. Trullly saddened but hopefully it will be something beautiful one day

Ya. Finger crossed for that

What is the name of this place previously?

Where was this?

In Kota Kinabalu. Next to Promenade Hotel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70