Nikita - A Popular Girl's Name? Thank Elton John & Luc Besson

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 00.27.51.png

How an MTV Video and Subsequent French Film Changed the Gender of a Name

One of the interesting and somewhat funny things that I run into all the time living in Russia, is when I mention my very good friend Nikita to Americans. Their first reaction is to ask for more information about "HER". Of course, my friend Nikita is a very masculine 2 meter tall male with a distinct Russian accent. My American friends always ask, "why his parents would give him such a name?"

On the flip-side, when I mention the popularity to my Russian friends about the name Nikita for a girl, I get a similar response such as, "Who would do such a thing to a girl, giving her that name?"

The answer is we can thank Sir Elton John and to a lesser extent, French film director Luc Besson. Huh? How is that possible? The power of pop-culture.

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 23.56.19.png

You see in 1985, Elton John (he hadn't received his knighthood yet) produced a song titled, "Nikita" and along with the song came the video. Remember, this was the MTV era. The song was about a border guard apparently in East Berlin that featured a beautiful and very Russian looking woman that John serenades from across the Berlin Wall. Of course, this was the 80's in America and homophobia was still rampant so the video had to feature a woman instead of a man.

Almost immediately there was a rise in the name Nikita for newborn girls in the States.

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 23.47.11.pngStatistics for newborn girls in the U.S. named Nikita

Adding fuel to this gender confusion was the French director Luc Besson who then wrote a screenplay and later directed a film about a female assassin named Nikita. His film was aptly titled La Femme Nikita and was released in 1990 with much critical acclaim. So much, in fact, that it inspired both an American remake in 1993 (Point of No Return) and a Canadian television series by the same name in 1995.

The result is that during this period the amount of female Nikita's grew substantially and now it is not so rare a name (far from common, but not unusual).

Screen Shot 2018-05-16 at 23.55.33.png

If you're unfamiliar with the song by Elton John or the film by Luc Besson, take a look at the clips below.

If you're still not convinced that Hollywood and the music industry have a significant impact on names, check out how many boys were named Tristan following the 1994 release of Legends of the Fall starring Brad Pitt. Unfortunately, my nephew, Tristan, still has no idea who Isolde is.

Divider Steemit.png

beer best purple.jpggraphic by @habeebability

Divider Steemit.png

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

All images are sourced.

Posted using: busy
https://busy.org/i/@energyaddict22

Join Kryptonia and Earn Free Superior Coin while Gaining Upvotes - Click Here

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240

Special thanks for support from @qurator @jumbot @resteemit @asapers #payitforward - @thedarkhose, @lynnecoyle1, #kryptonia #superiorcoin @sydesjokes

Energyaddict22 image.jpg

Divider Steemit.png

smartsteem_banner.8ac637d.gif

SBI banner.png

Kryptonia1.png

DQmarWRv4wXiqPZbmtDCDRTwE5jewDQrG1ATrXcFrTThxht.gif

Sort:  

One of my favourite's song when I was in junior high school and I thought it is a girl name. One of the famous female artist in my country in mid 2000 has the same name, too bad the other artist with the same name always get more attention for her sensational look.

Very true! Good to see you here. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

I have been busy during the week, but I'll keep stopping by whenever I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87