Character designs for Animated Music Video concept

in #music6 years ago

A few days ago I was working on a remix of an old tune of mine and I got to remembering the idea for a music video that I'd been mulling over, back when I'd first recorded the piece. Next thing I knew, I was drawing away on my computer and had come up with three designs that I'd like to share with you right here.

The name of the song is Barn Dance for Freaks, and as you might imagine, the setting is a Barn Dance filled with a bunch of monsters and oddities of every variety. And of course the band is no different - these first two designs would represent the guitarist(s) and bass player, respectively.

barndance1.jpg

barndance2.jpg

As for the drummer, it's toss up between a giant Tarantula in a top hat wielding multiple drumsticks amongst its eight limbs, or by contrast, some sort of pickled being with tiny arm stumps in the place of ears, that somehow manages to pull the drumming off in spite of the fact that it barely seems to move.

Now of course it wouldn't be a proper barn dance without a proper barn romance and for that I thought of a matchup between the wolf man and zombie girl. The wolf man is a pretty conventional design, and I have an old design of a guy that might pass for him as a human kicking around in my notes somewheres. This would add some dimension to the story, with zombie girl trying to eat him as a human and then the moon comes out and he turns into a wolf man and tries to eat her... Until they eventually work it out to their mutual happiness. Kind of a tragic romance considering how things will go once he turns back. A fleeting moment of joy, just like in real life...

The zombie girl is a mixture between, well, a zombie, and the character of Porcelain from the movie The Houses That October built. Whotta woman!



barndance3.jpg

So what do you think? Should I make this music video? I used to make animated videos for my music, but stopped a while back to concentrate more on other things, but if there's a sufficient demand then I think I just might get back into it again.

To get you an idea of the mood for the piece you can listen to the track at this link:

https://musicoin.org/nav/track/0x8cbc8226319a8f3041393850fe4fe3a9f15c76a5

Hope you like the music!


Writing and images by Greg McCann, the author of this post and owner of this Steemit Channel. To view more of my work, please visit www.fireawaymarmot.com.

banner.gif

Sort:  

@smartbot tip 1

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 6200 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you send SBD to resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

1 SMART = 0.04 SBD

How To Use SmartCash?

Σ$$$ Tipped @fireawaymarmot Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.115 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.12 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

I think you should go for it
Especially if you yourself feel like doing it.

I recently improvised my first music video ( after 15 years of making - and not making- short films. This music video was inspired by a track by a fellow steemian.

These days, I have been thinking of getting (back) into animation. I tried my hands on it in the past - but it was so time consuming that I never really got into it.

Anyhow, cool art! It was the two headed freak that got me to read this and the fact that you're talking about animated videos on the day that I posted on a (semi) animated music video by The Smashing Pumpkins can't be a coincidence.

Please do this! :>)

Thanks for your encouragement. As you said, animation is very time consuming, but I imagine that sooner or later I'll take this project on.

Awesome! :>)

Enjoy your day and keep me/ us updated

Hello @fireawaymarmot, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79