How to start listening to: The Beatles

in #music6 years ago (edited)



For nobody is a secret that the British pop/rock band, The Beatles, changed the way of creating and composing music. Certainly, the Fab four have been, are, and will be an unmistakable reference for contemporary and future generations of rock, pop and related music. Since their humble beginnings in clubs and bars in Liverpool, on 1958, known as The Quarrymen then, have caused furor and exaltation among their fans, whose prayers and shouts began on stage even before they start their show, preventing the musicians could hear their own instruments' sound. The Beatlemania, half a century later, has lasted.

Undoubtedly, you would have encountered with a song by the Liverpool quartet at a certain moment in your life; either with covers and versions produced by contemporary artists or simply with the original songs. But ... have you heard more about the stuff composed by these four guys? Have you wanted to see why The Beatles has been the most recognized pop/rock band and praised by critics in the 60's? Have you wanted to start in its music but you just don't know how or where to start?



If your answer is yes, you have come to the right place.




People don't know how to recommend musical bands, in my opinion. Usually they tell Gabriel to listen to any band, that is very good and that he will like it ... But they forget the part where they explain how he should start; he ends up confused, listens to the wrong ones, get a bad first impression and the result is catastrophic. Conclusion: if you are not careful, you will end up generating in the other person the opposite effect to the one you were looking for.

.
This case is not the exception. The Beatles, during its career, marks two stages, as it is exponentially noticeable a change in its classic rock n' roll style to make space for the inclusion of experimental sounds and rhythms that opts for a more progressive rock style (See the album Revolver or Sgt. Pepper's) not everyone tend to sympathize with, and as I said, ends up in the catastrophe.


But anyway, without further ado, let's go to the point.

The Beatles has something special. You feel that all their albums (without exception) are awesome. Some better or more elaborated than others, they share almost the same level of quality as their predecessor album. So, where do you should start? For the album that, in my opinion, best reflects the essence of both musical stages of this legendary band, and it is the album Help!. Launched in 1965, its harmonic and eclectic arrangements bring out the group's musical development and maturity, manifesting this fact in masterpieces such as Yesterday, sung by Paul McCartney; or the mythical Help!, the single that gives its name to the album.

However, even though all the albums are highly recommended, I have compiled a list of five (5) songs that you should listen to on the album and that will serve as a perfect initiation to the beatlemania. These should be listened, preferably, in the following order:



1. Help! (1965)



1. Help!
2. I need you
3. Ticket to ride
4. I've just seen a face
5. Yesterday



2. Rubber Soul(1965)/Please please me (1963)


Rubber Soul:




1. Drive my car
2. You won't see me
3. Michelle
4. Girl
5. In my life

Please please me:




1. I saw her standing there
2. Ask me why
3. Love me do
4. Do you want to know a secret?
5. Twist and shout



3. Revolver(1966)/A hard day's night (1964)


Revolver:




1. Eleanor Rigby
2. I'm only sleeping
3. Here, there and everywhere
4. Yellow submarine
5. For no one

A hard day's night:




1. A hard day's night
2. If I fell
3. And I love her
4. Can't buy my love
5. Any time at all



4. Magical Mystery Tour (1967)/White album (1968)


Magical Mystery Tour:




1. The fool on the hill
2. Hello goodbye
3. Strawberry fields forever
4. Penny Lane
5. All you need is love

White album:




1. While my guitar gently weeps
2. Happines is a warm gun
3. Martha my dear
4. Blackbird
5. I will



5. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts club band(1967)/Abbey Road (1969)


Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts club band:




1. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts club band
2. With a little help from my friends
3. Getting better
4. She's leaving home
5. A day in the life

Abbey Road:




1. Come together
2. Something
3. Oh! Darling
4. Here comes the sun
5. Golden Slumbers/Carry that weight/The end




It was not easy to select only 5 songs from each album, because I left out many incredible songs but, in time, they will surely come to you if they have to. I didn't include some albums (Let it be, Beatles for sale, Yellow Submarine, etc) because I hate setting aside songs of this awesome band. Nevertheless, you are free to listen to them later, if you wish.

So, here I give you the homework done, the dinner served on a silver platter. It's up to you what to do next. Once again, I recommend listening to the chosen songs of each album in the order I give you. You are free to listen to the songs in the order you prefer anyway.

In short:




Here you have an appetizer, my friend, because the beatlemania is extensive, and would require your own curiosity and willingness to investigate the rest of material and stuff out there, like precious stones waiting to be found. And without further ado, I officially welcome you to the Magical Mystery Tour!

I say farewell reminding you that you are not only what you eat, but also you are the music that you listen to.



Cheers!


When you click on each image, you will be redirected to the website from which it was extracted.
The last image belongs to me.
¡Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

This is a very well put post....TONS of info on one of the best bands of all time!
When learning guitar I love to do their music. They really do have something special and are master songwriters!
Glad Im not the only one that believes that....which is silly to say since they are so huge LOL

Yeah, you are not the only one, dude! The Beatles is one of the best thing that has ever happened to the music, with any doubt. Thanks for reading, @towjam :)

Hello, excelent post if you want to know how to make money with the platform I recommend. https://discord.gg/J4wuC3N

Thanks for reading @andromedabi! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71