I found you like a melody

in #music5 years ago

Flying solo is something I haven't had to do a lot of over the years. I'm lucky to have an awesome partner to ride in the shotgun seat of my truck and we enjoy doing things together. I am fortunate that this girl, my wife Faith, puts up with me and sticks around.
There are times that we are apart though, the longest being a few weeks when I flew to Papua New Guinea to trek the Kokoda Trail which I have written about before.

I've been away from home this weekend, for almost the last four days, not that far away I guess but far enough, some three hundred kilometres, and I missed my wife a lot. I was at a shooting event way out in the countryside. I have written about that over the last few days so you can take a look back if you like. I returned home today and on the way had my Spotify account working overtime on a playlist I follow showcasing a lot of new country music which is where I heard this song.

To me music means a lot and I can't really imagine life without it to be honest. It's like a soundtrack on a movie I guess...Omit the music and it seems a little flat...Like life without music is to me.

Anyway, each month we send each other a text with a track to listen to. It's not always a romantic type track however they pop up from time to time as well. This month I'm sending this one which I heard for the first time a little while ago and again on my solo drive back home from the outback location I was competing (shooting) at.

I've put the lyrics below but you can watch and listen to it here if you would like to see the official video. It's a nice song and sort of sums up how I feel, which is very fortunate to have my wife with me.

It's called One Man Band, by a great band called Old Dominion.

Been flyin' solo for so long
Nobody's singin' the harmony
Up there just me and my shadow
No bass, no guitar, no tambourine

And I found you like a melody
You were singin' in the same key as me
We had 'em dancin' in the streets

I don't wanna be a one man band
I don't wanna be a rolling stone, alone
Puttin' miles on a run-down van
Baby, we can take our own show on the road
I'll lay down the beat, you'll carry the tune
We'll get tattoos, and we'll trash hotel rooms
Baby, take my hand
I don't wanna be a one man band.

I wanna run down your wild dreams
And I wanna chase every high with you
Count every rip in these old jeans
We'll never learn how to sing the blues

If I'm gonna be famous
Girl, I wanna be famous with you
We got our own little groove

I don't wanna be a one man band
I don't wanna be a rolling stone, alone
Puttin' miles on a run-down van
Baby, we can take our own show on the road
I'll lay down the beat, you'll carry the tune
We'll get tattoos, and we'll trash hotel rooms
Baby, take my hand
'Cause I don't wanna be a one man band

When the spotlight goes cold, and the curtains come down
The chairs are all stacked, and there's no one around
And nobody's payin', we’ll still be playin'

I don't wanna be a one man band
I don't wanna be a rolling stone, alone
Puttin' miles on a run-down van
Baby, we can take our own show on the road
I'll lay down the beat, you'll carry the tune
We'll get tattoos, and we'll trash hotel rooms
Baby, take my hand
'Cause I don't wanna be a one man band
I don't wanna be a one man band


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

nice and cool way of exchanging music :)

Yeah, it's our thing...One of them anyways). Been doing it every month for a long, long time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww ❤️ that is so sweet. Love this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks HD...It's a nice song by Old Dominion, they get the credit...I just apply it as required. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Have a tradition is a great way to keep connected! Glad you both have something you can enjoy together.

Been doing it for a while now. We end up with some interesting music that’s for sure!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The only person who almost manages to get me jealous:P I swear you guys are just too cute to have been together for that long:P
You guys are rares ones<3

Merci beaucoup @steemityourway

What can I say, allegedly I’m adorable 😇

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fuck the allegedly.
I confirm ;)

You got a 7.33% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82