Some of my 12 inch vinyl

in #music5 years ago (edited)

If you are old enough to know what a vinyl record was you may also own or have owned some 12 inch vinyl records. These were introduced in the disco area when DJ's asked for longer disco hits. In those days people danced on a dancefloor (true!) and a single of a few minutes was not long enough. So although the RPM was 45 like with a single the 12" record could last like 12 to 15 minutes.

Love to love you baby of Donna Summer lasted 16 minutes and this gave you plenty time to show all the moves you got !

The first "rap" song I had to buy as well of course. "See I am Wonder Mike and I like to say hello ". I can still sing 95% of the lyrics. Text was pleasantly (women) friendly compared to now. You see I paid 12 guilders which now is 6 EUR.

[all vinyl pictures are made by me]

Last one I show is this one of Patrick Cowley who died soon after (1982) due to HIV. ( I just read that)

Do you have any 12" vinyl that survived the time ?

enjoy the weekend

Goldrooster

Sort:  

Rapper’s Delight was playing on the radio during my drive home last night. I love that song. ☺️

I remember what a big deal it was to go to the mall and get a new record, those malls are all gone but one now.

I used to have a huge vinyl collection... sob... and now i have a bunch of cd’s i never play — but they make for good/fun boxes to send shiny in 😜👍

Vinyl forever! Support your local record stores :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84