Grapthar's Song of the Day: Thrice 'The Whaler'

in #music5 years ago

6s7hdvxw.jpg

Thrice - The Whaler

Thrice is a really interesting band

that I have liked since high school, first hearing them probably close to 16 years ago now. They were formed in 1998 by singer/guitarist Dustin Kensrue and lead guitarist Teppei Teranishi, rounding out their lineup with brothers Eddie and Riley Breckenridge (bass and drums respectively). The band began as a hardcore/metal-core sort of band, but began experimenting with odd-meters and new sounds as they grew. I felt like my tastes were growing and evolving along with them, so they were sort of a constant present in my playlists over the years, always releasing something new and interesting. (Source - Wikipedia, Thrice)

Listen to The Whaler by Thrice here.

This song is from the band's

2007 double album, The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II (Fire and Water). The following year, they released Vol. III and IV (Earth and Air), which is a great album, though I think the Fire and Water portions are my favorites. The Fire songs are all pretty heavy and intense, focusing on their metal influences more (fitting for the fire theme), but Water has a more post-rock/ambient sort of vibe, incorporating a lot of electronic drums and more harmonically pleasing writing. This song is a good example, with the angular sort of Aphex influenced drum beat. The tune is in 10/4, which gives it an awesome, sort of elongated feeling (like 4/4, with an extra 2 beats every other bar).

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!




Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70