Grapthar's Song of the Day: The Hollies 'The Air That I Breathe'

in #music5 years ago

The_Hollies_(1965).png

The Hollies - The Air That I Breathe

The Hollies were a major

rock/pop act, formed in 1962. The band has had a number of members over the years, most famously founding members Alan Clarke (of Alan Parson's Project fame) and Graham Nash (Crosby, Stills and Nash). They became famous for their intricate 3 part vocal harmonies, and had a number of hit songs through the '60s and well into the 1970s, expanding their sound over time as rock and roll grew from a teen-pop fad into a real musical genre.

Listen to The Air That I Breathe by The Hollies here.

This song is far and away

my favorite from the band. The Verse riff may sound familiar, as it was "borrowed" (ripped off?) by Radiohead in their single Creep. They also have a great fill before the Chorus which is simple, but adds a really interesting sound to the song. We are in G major, but they use a Dminor, to a C, down to G, then back up to Dmajor. Using both a D major and minor chord sounds absolutely awesome, and really makes the section distinct.

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

If you sing/rap/whatever and want to put something on track 2wo, contact me!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I support this song 100%
1.jpg

To be sure! This song is the jam!
2.jpg

Eh...The song is good, but his hair is wierd.
3.jpg

Guys!
It's about the hair that's around you!
4.jpg

hahahahaha thank you so much. I will upvote all of these.

👍 I've been saving these pictures for this day. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98