'Dark 5ve' - Some of My Older Original Music! - Orchestral/Short Film Soundtrack + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

dark-forest-5.jpg

So this is a song I wrote

probably close to 10 years ago now. My friend Zach was attending college at Ithaca College in Ithaca, NY, and had written and shot a short film about Merlin the Wizard, and some kids who discover one of his ancient writings, and go on an adventure to save him. The movie was titled Book of Ages, and Zach’s brother Josh and I wrote all the music for it.

This was by far the best

song in my opinion. The beginning of it uses some orchestral samples I had from Miroslav Philharmonik, an awesome orchestral plugin for DAWs. Each section is 3 measures of 5/4, then 1 of 6/4. I loved how these samples sounded, although I always wished we had been able to record the drums a bit better. I had to record them myself, with a crappy mic, which is unfortunate. They were supposed to sound sort of ancient or tribal, which I think still comes across, but considering how good the orchestral stuff sounds, the drums definitely could’ve worked a bit better.

Listen to Dark 5ve here.

Halfway into the song,

we transfer into a sort of rock arrangement of the song, using generally the same harmonies and rhythms, but with a full drum kit, and electric guitars. This portion of the track is DEFINITELY way more of a demo than the intro, again I didn’t have access to really anything that would make recording easier, and had to do half of it using Garageband, lol. While the recording quality isn’t great, I still really dig the musical ideas in this track, it’s dark, and the odd meter gives it a cool feeling.

Hope you enjoy the tune! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09