'Double Harmonic Major Exercise' - Original Music/Throwback to An Old Scale Exercise! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

379038_661347781819_1499055547_n.jpg

This song is from probably

a little over a year ago, and I don't think I had heard since the original upload until yesterday. I was just going through the (many) old Soundcloud accounts, and stumbled upon it. Around this time, I was writing daily tunes, attempting use a different scale every day, just as a sort of practice routine to get myself more familiar with their sounds and uses. I started with the major scale and all of its modes, then got into weirder, more obscure scales, such as this!

Listen to Double Harmonic Major Exercise here.

The Double Harmonic major

scale is really interesting, and is played as followed: 1, b2, 3, 4, 5, b6, and 7. The b2 and b6 give it a darker feeling, but we also have a major 3, and major 7, which completely alter that feeling. It is often described as having an Eastern European vibe, which I think is accurate, as it is something that did not appear in any Western classical traditions until the 20th century. To write this song, I essentially just selected the notes in the scale for three octaves, then collapsed the piano scroll so I would only have access to those, and built it up from there.

I hope you dig this little throwback exercise! Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78