'Enter the Machine' - Original Music! Metal/Rock/Instrumental Throwback Song Of Mine + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

379038_661347781819_1499055547_n.jpg

Today is a good day for a throwback

song, and I haven't listened to this in a while, so it'll be a good refresher for me too. I wrote this during the time in my old math-metal-punk band The Steaks, and I wanted it to be a song for the band, but we never really got to jam on it. The other guitarist Ben and I worked it 2x I think, then we played our only show, and broke up, lol. So the only copy is this one that I recorded via Garageband and drums done through an app called DoggieBox. I would love to go back and fix this song up, maybe change a few things here and there and get a more solid recording... perhaps one day.

Listen to Enter the Machine here.

The main riff of the song plays

a relatively simple lick, while the harmonies below it move from Cmaj to Abmaj. The meter changes here every other measure, alternating between a measure of 8 and a measure of 7. This rhythm sounds great when the palm-muted riff comes in, I love the way it feels with the missing beat in the 7 sections, it's a lot of fun to play too.

Listen to Enter the Machine here.

When we reach the Chorus,

there are no more measures of 8; it is all 7/8. The little sweepy riffs aren't played perfectly, as this was a technique I had just picked up around this time, but I like how it sounds, its a bit messy which sounds interesting. I also like how this part doesn't use the Flat Vi at all, which makes things a lot happier in the Chorus. All around a fun song to play, I am enjoying going back and re-learning it.

I hope you dig the throwback tune! Thanks for listening!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Hello @grapthar, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks as always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14