Grapthar's Song of the Day: Flamin' Groovies 'Shake Some Action'

in #music6 years ago

Flamin.jpg

Flamin' Groovies - Shake Some Action

Flamin' Groovies were a band

formed in 1965 to be a "throwback" band, playing older rock and roll, but later had some line up changes and began to go in a more "powerpop" direction. However, that older rock and rollsort of DIY ethic thing that later became punk rock definitely was a major part of this band, and it comes through in their music, and this song in particular. They definitely were proto-punk, as they still had group harmonies and more "technical" lead parts, but sort of that simple general song structure harkening back to 50's rock.

Listen to Shake Some Action by Flamin' Groovies here.

This song is by far and away

my favorite of theirs. While I do like a lot of their other albums and songs, this one is just the perfect rock song to me. It's got a good driving rhythm, great guitar, great vocals... None of their other songs are as "perfect" as this one is to me. Honestly, sometimes they sound kind of corny after hearing this track and what they were capable of haha. Not in a bad way, I just wish they would've gone more in THIS direction at times, but not my band, I didn't get to choose, lol. On that note, I hope you enjoy the song!

Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25