'Keys N Horns' - New Original Music/Demo! - Electronic/2 Pianos + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-05-13 20.14.08.png

This was a creation from last night

which I came up with sort of accidentally; I was just mapping out some chords and voicings and seeing how they sounded, but accidentally came up with a rhythm I liked, so I edited the chords a bit and voila, the beginnings of a song! We have 2 pianos that are mirrors of each other, 2 drum tracks, then 2 synth tracks at the end. Let's go through it!

Listen to KeysNHorns here.

Since Tracks 1 and 2 play the same progression,

I'll just go through it once here, just know they are both playing it. We begin on a Csus4, but as the following chords will begin to demonstrate, we are actually in C# major. Basically, I set up a basic progression of diads and triads, but then went through and tried to add some extra harmony on the top using 9ths, 13ths, etc. I think it worked out really well, I like how we resolve at the end of each section, and begin each section with a dissonance. While it is unusual, as the progression just repeats, you sort of lose the beginning and ending of the section, and start hearing the resolve to C#maj as beginning. Interesting phenomenon. (Side Note: Tracks 5 and 6 use this same progression, so refer to the screenshot below when I discuss those.)

Screenshot 2018-05-13 20.14.19.pngTracks 1 and 2 (and 5 and 6), described above.

Tracks 3 and 4 are our percussion tracks,

beginning with 3, which is the weird digital beepbloop stuff, then Track 4 comes in, adding an actual drum kit to the song. Relatively simple beat, I like how it worked out though, especially the little triangle hit 2x each section.

Listen to KeysNHorns here.

Track 5 is the synthy horn sort of tone

that comes in towards the end. It mirrors Tracks 1 and 2, but because this instrument is monophonic, it doesn't play the chords, just picks notes out of them, so I wound up with an extra harmony line accidentally haha. Track 6 is the weird noises and synthy tones that swell in and out. It too mirrors Tracks 1 and 2, though its not very apparent as this is mostly just a cool noisey thing.

That's it for this song! Upon reading my own walkthrough, I realized this song should've been called "Happy Accidents", as most of it happened just from screwing around and picking weird instruments haha. But I'm happy with it, it's cool in a quirky sort of way. Thanks for checking out my music!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00