'March of Kings' - Original Music, the Last Throwback Tune for a While! New Music Coming This Weekend! Guitar/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

So, this is going to be the last

throwback/look back/past song, as I am going to be coming home tomorrow from vacation, and will be able to really get down to writing/practicing with daily song attempts again. I wrote this in 2005, just before leaving to go to college in Reno, and expanded on it when I arrived there, as I had been practicing a lot and my technique was greatly improving. I still really like the sound of this song, I think if I re-did it with 2 acoustic guitars it might be a lot cooler and more expressive.

Listen to March of Kings here.

The main riff is essentially

just arpeggios of Dmin, Gmin6, and A7. The two-chord slide thing before repeating plays a D#major to an Fmajor then back to D# before repeating the riff on Dmin. We then get to the chorus part, with the palm-muted guitar, which basically plays D5(powerchord), Bb/D, to a Gmaj, then the second time, D5, Bb/D to A. There is also a break in this song, when I modulated to D major, which I always thought sounded really cool, it was probably the first time I really used modulation on a conscious songwriting level, as I had been taking music classes at school.

Hope you enjoy the song, thanks for checking out the walkthrough!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

It is always good to look back at your older work and see how much you've grown and what you can learn from the past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94