'Raiders of the Lost Plugs' - Original Musical Short/Theme Song Submission for a Podcast! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

15fd735d-2ba1-07d2-7647-12ca5f6a53b5_cbb_s2_scott_reggie.jpg

I have been a longtime fan

of the podcast Comedy Bang Bang, and after listening for a number of years, I decided a couple of years to submit some songs to them. Each episode, they have a "Plugs" section of the show, where guests can share their upcoming appearances, DVD releases, tours, etc. They take theme song submissions from the audience, submitted via their messageboard, and pick a new for every episode. Although this didn't get picked, I always really liked the feeling of the track; I wanted it to sound sort of Saharan/Indian Jones'-esque, which I think worked out pretty well.

Listen to Raiders of the Lost Plugs here.

In the intro, there is a vocal sample

of "Gonna Listen to Some Plugs" (which was sung by host Scott Aukerman and a guest on the show). I had this repeat and swell in volume, just so it wasn't entirely instrumental, and then we get into the actual song. It's pretty straightforward, I used an Ableton instrument called Tuvan Throat Singing (which was sampled from Tuvan throat singers, obviously, haha), which provides the droney, dark backdrop. When I did this, I had only been using Ableton for like, 3 weeks, so I was super proud of the drums too, as I had just figured out how to build up a kit, and in this case, used tambourines, and some hand drums, along some cymbals.

Listen to Raiders of the Lost Plugs here.

I believe I used a synth-flute

sound for the melody that comes in after the Intro, and again at the end when the throat singing cuts out. I wish I had the original Ableton file, so I could include some screenshots, but it's on a hard drive at home, as I ran out of space on the laptop.

Hope you enjoy the song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I liked the theme of this very eastern sounding and epic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07