'Some Finite Distance Off' - New Original Music/Demo! - Guitar Song Mapped to Piano and Synth Bass/Drums in Ableton + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

Screenshot 2018-05-11 20.10.24.png

This was a riff I had on guitar

for a while now, and wasn't ever really sure what else to build up around it, so I decided to map it to piano in Ableton like the other 2 songs I did in the last few weeks. I think the riff is kind of cool on the electric piano track, although when I record the guitar, that will definitely be the main instrument, some things just don't sound as nice on piano, particularly the Minor 2nd intervals. On the guitar they feel less obvious, as the live acoustic guitar sustain is a lot longer than this piano tone, but whatever, it definitely works well enough for me to work with it and add some cool instrumentation around it in the future.

Listen to Some Finite Distance Off here.

Track 1 is our electric piano

and just repeats the riff 4x. We begin with a measure of 4/4 and a G major arpeggio, then a measure of 6/4 where we go to Ebmajor (b6) arpeggio with a descending melody line on top going from Bb, to Ab then G again was the G major repeats. Everything from here on out is also arpeggiated, so I'll just name the chords: Cmin, Bmaj, Amaj (with a b5 and natural 5), Bmin, then we do that descending Cmaj, Cmin, Bmin, Bbmin, Amin, then a really odd chord on guitar, which doesn't have the same timbre while the same using this instrument: FmajMin7add11 (I guess? haha), then a high A moves us back into the G major and we repeat.

Screenshot 2018-05-11 20.10.37.pngThe Riff, in Track 1, described above.

Track 2 is our bass,

just a synth bass, not particularly dirty, just a lot of low end. It follows root notes at times, but does move to some 3rds, a 4th and some 5ths, particularly in the chromatic descending minor chord portion. Not sure if this would ever be the final bass tone, I think with an acoustic guitar it could use some electric bass or maybe cello or something? We'll see what happens when I record the rest.

Listen to Some Finite Distance Off here.
Screenshot 2018-05-11 20.10.49.pngThe Bass, Track 2, described above.

Last up is #3, our drums of course,

which begin the first time around playing just a pedaled hihat, with some little other hits happening throughout until we build to the full beat, which brings in the kick and snare and some toms at the end of each section. Simple, not mixed great, need some hits to be louder, and maybe bring down the volume of the other 2 tracks, but this isn't the final version by any means, just sort of a visual for me to work with when I'm not playing guitar.

When I finalize this song and record the guitars and whatever else there will be, I'll definitely share it with you guys! Hopefully it'll sound very different, I would like to split up the chords between some instruments, maybe horns even? I dunno yet... but I will share it when I do it! Hope you liked the walkthrough and dig the song so far, thanks for checking my blog out!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

This is wonderful... Everything is really cool about it.

Here is a link to my post on 5 health benefit of music, please do well to read. Thank you...

Glad you liked it, thanks!

Sure i'll give it a read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75