'Song From Highschool' - Original Music/One of My Old, OLD Tunes! Punk/Rock/Electronic + Walkthrough!

in #music6 years ago

379038_661347781819_1499055547_n.jpg

I need to clear off some space

on my laptop, so I can't mix down any of the little tunes I've been working on till tomorrow, which makes it a good time for another throwback tune. I recorded this in probably 2003, with the drums being done on some super old version of Fruity Loops. I took the audio from the drum track and dropped into the very first Garageband application, and recorded my guitar DI'ed into my computer. I only had Fruity Loops on a PC though, since I got it from Kazaa or something, so this was a pretty inefficient way to do things, lol.

Check out Song from Highschool here.

Looking back on this song,

I think it has some parts that are interesting, but generally it feels a little random. The electronic drums with the rock/punk guitar stuff feels a bit strange, but it's fun to examine it with modern eyes, and remembering where I was in my musical ability at the time. The fact that the Verse and Chorus are in the same key is already impressive, considering I knew nothing at the time about modulations or key centers, so parts could be wildly different, and somehow I decided to put them together lol.

Check out Song from Highschool here.

I actually like the sound of the drums,

they remind me of lo-fi electronic drum stuff from the time period. The guitar riff by itself is fine too, not anything particularly crazy, just a simple vi, IV, V, I for the Verses, and a vi, I, V in the Chorus. I think I also used an acoustic-electric to record the Chorus, with a distortion? Not sure why, but it definitely has a "unique" character, haha.

I hope you've enjoyed this little throwback to the past! I like doing these, sometimes the songs are a bit cringey, but I can't change what I did at the time, so I might as well look back and learn from it!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Hello @grapthar, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85