'Twinklies' - New Original Music/Song Idea! Electronic/Chill/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-01-10 20.12.49.png

Here's a little tune

that is definitely in the early stages. I like the general feeling, the twinkly little melody lines and the wobbly bass part in particular. The drum kits may change, they're sort of just placeholders at the moment, along with a few of the backing tracks, so I'll definitely do more updates as the song changes. Let's go through it.

Listen to Twinklies here.

Tracks 1 and 2

provide the basic harmony for the track, with Track 1 being the twinkly hits and swells, and Track 2 a reversed piano effect. There are 3 basic parts, Green, Purple-ish (light purple-grey? I dunno, lol), and Blue. In the Green, we begin on our tonic of Cmaj, and move to Fmaj. In the other 2, we move to our parallel minor key of Cminor; The Purple-ish section moves from an Ab to a Bb, then the Blue from Ebmaj to Dmin, which moves us back to our home key of Cmajor.

Screenshot 2019-01-10 20.16.06.pngTracks 1 and 2, Green section, described above.

Track 3 adds some clicky

little notes which I guess are sort of a melody line, along with Track 5 which doubles these in a lower register, adding a sort of bass part (although there is a second bass coming up). We also have Track 4 which is a reversed piano-pedal-noise clip which swooshes us into changes in section.

Listen to Twinklies here.

Track 6 is our wobbly

bass, which arrives about halfway. This follows the same section changes as Tracks 1 and 2, and I've attached the Cmajor section in the screenshot below. Our final instrument is Track 7 which adds a hissy synth part over the Cmajor sections. This may be removed/replaced, as I don't love the timbre of this instrument but I like the general idea. Finally we have our 2 drum tracks, 8 and 9 which combine to create our beat.

Screenshot 2019-01-10 20.16.30.pngTrack 6, wobbly bass, Cmaj section.

I hope you enjoy today's song (or the beginnings of a song anyway)! Stay tuned for updates as I edit/expand this one (and the others I've shared over the last week).



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

If you sing/rap/whatever and want to put something on track 2wo, contact me!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

hey man, thanks for sharing, I use Ableton Live too! I'm going to follow you!

Nice! Thanks gave you a follow back too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10