Grapthar's Song of the Day: Aretha Franklin 'I Say a Little Prayer'

in #music5 years ago

aretha_franklin_port_452h_2018.jpg

Aretha Franklin - I Say a Little Prayer

This is a song I found

through a Music Theory YouTube channel, in a video about pop songs that add or subtract an extra beat, creating a temporary odd-meter. Aretha Franklin is clearly a legend in the music world, beginning her career singing gospel music as a child, and eventually becoming a major star in the pop/rhythm and blues/soul world. She was also deeply involved in the Civil Rights movement, and became an icon for her activism in the '50s and '60s. (Source - Wikipedia, Aretha Franklin)

Listen to I Say a Little Prayer by Aretha Franklin here.

This song was actually

written by Burt Bacharach and his partner, lyrics-writer Hal David, and was originally given to Dionne Warwick. That version reached #4 on the Hot 100, and though the later release by Franklin did not hit as high, I personally like this version a lot more. The songwriting itself is clearly amazing, showing off Bacharach's skills before he became a household name, but Franklin's voice is really what defines this release. She has an incredibly expressive voice and is able to really make this a powerful and emotional song.

Enjoy today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!




Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

This song was popular when I was in junior high/high school, and I always liked it. I can't say I ever gave much thought to the fact that it is mulitmetric, until you mentioned it. I'm more familiar with Dionne Warwick's recording of it, but I enjoyed listening to Aretha Franklin's version just now. Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

Glad you enjoyed it! I think I'm more partial to this one only because I heard this years before the Warwick version, then after researching the tune a bit, found the original. There's also an instrumental version that Bachrach did on his own, which is pretty cool too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86