'Witching Wail' - New Original Music/Random 30 Minute Creation! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 20190910 20.47.08.png

So this was sort of

a timed challenge, I didn't really actually time myself, but I gave myself basically one episode of a TV show that had just started in the background, lol. I think there are some cool ideas here, not sure if I love the drums; they sound cool but I dunno how well they work with the other stuff happening. I do love the "Verse" part, with the higher violin/strings, so maybe I'll take that and try and build a new tune around... but in the meantime, let's go through this version!

Listen to Witching Wail here.

Track 2 is where I began

things, with the little chord progression. This is just some Operator synth from Ableton, nothing too crazy. Track 3 is grouped with Track 2, and provides another layer over the "Chorus" sections. Next group is Tracks 5 and 6, which are both strings from Spitfire Audio's LABS. Track 5 is the "scary strings", which only come in over the Chorus, while Track 6 uses the regular "long" string ensemble.

Screenshot 20190910 20.47.17.png

Track 2, main synth.
Listen to Witching Wail here.
Screenshot 20190910 20.47.44.png
Track 6, strings, Verse.

The next group is our

rhythm section, which is made up of the drums and bass track. For the bass, I used the "upright bass" from Native Instruments' "Band" set. In the Verse sections, it just plays a regular bassline, but in the Chorus, a super rhythmic delay is added which makes it much more intense and sorta bouncy, keeping things moving when the drum rhythm changes. Finally, we have our last group, transitions, which are just random clips of various FX to build up/swell/crescendo (pick your poison, lol) into certain sections.

Hope you've enjoyed the fruits of another timed(-ish) challenge! I think there are a few cool ideas here so I'll try and expand those into their own tunes over time.




Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77