Last Drink In Malta/The Health Department Blues

in #music6 years ago

Hey! It's been two weeks since my last post on Steemit and there's a lot to share. But, first things first: INmusic Festival. So, INmusic is Croatia's biggest music festival, it takes places on a beautiful location on the Jarun lake, it lasts for 3 days and every year it features killer names. This year we had a pleasure of both performing and enjoying all the great acts like David Byrne (probably my favorite show of the festival), St. Vincent, Queens of the Stone Age, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Alice in Chains etc. We had a great 45 minute slot on the third day of the festival, opening the Hidden Stage for the evening. The 7PM slot is really cool because it doesn't overlapse with any other (major or minor) act and people are already within the festival, eager for the music to start happening so we had a full house. The stage is also very cool! It's called Hidden because it in fact is hidden inside the woods and it's more of a giant circus tent than a stage! There were a lot of people from all over the world there (so we got very positive feedback from Hungary, the UK and Belgium after the show) and we just kicked ass! We were ready, the sound was awesome, the crowd was in good spirit, what else do you need? We even premiered one of our new songs, a sort of a Schlager a la Cohen which describes Oliver Reed's last drink in Malta (https://www.airmalta.com/destinations/malta/blog/detail/Oliver-Reeds-last-drink-in-Malta)
It was caught on tape and we found it on Youtube so I'm happy I can link the song for you guys to enjoy!

INmusic-850x567.jpg

(that big ass blue tent over there - that's the Hidden Stage. Sorry, but it's the best photo Google had to offer)

In other news, an update from a ''solo'' gig I played in Koprivnica a few weeks ago I also wrote about https://steemit.com/music/@grobens/recording-a-live-show-testing-the-superlux-s502
I still didn't get the audio tracks for the entire show, but Bojan sent me the tracks of a new song we sort of tested live for the first time so I was able to do a little mixing as a sort of preparation for mixing the entire thing when I get the tracks. The song is called Health Department Blues and it's about anxiety and how it affects everyday life. It's also about how people tend to get in an anxiety loop which is hard to get out of. We sort of jammed the song to get the feeling of it and hear how it sounds live in order to be able to improve it on future rehearsals. I'm really pleased with the atmosphere of the song, the dynamics of it and how it builds suspense - it really goes well with the lyrics but we need to play it some more to feel more relaxed when we do it and to achieve a sort of ''tightness''. It's also on Youtube so you can check it out:

And now a quick update on playing silent movies (see previous post): I've finished watching all the movies a couple of times and I've made some more sketches but I'm still far from finishing the project. I was thinking about posting the sketches as they come about here on Steemit but then I decided to do one mega post where I'll put all the sketches together so people could get a better idea of the diversity of movies I'm talking about. This is slowly turning out to be one of the most challenging and engaging projects I ever worked on and it's very exciting but it starts to get a little more scary every day. I'm a little worried about the actual live performance but I like to hope all will be well. Anyway, I'm playing a show in Slovenia next Tuesday so I have to get ready for that and an International Jazz Festival started today in my hometown of Koprivnica so I'm heading back home to attend and I'll write about it next week! Talk to you on Monday! I hope you enjoy the tracks I've shared with you today!

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82