Steem Monsters Music | Mixing Isaria's 'March of the Undead'

in #music6 years ago


Hey friends! I told Isaria recently that I would start making videos during my mixing process to help her (and others) kind of get an idea of things to watch for when mixing a track. The plan was to go through a bunch of the awesome tracks that she's already made for Steem Monsters, and get them sounding coherent with the ones that I'm making as well. Truthfully this isn't always necessary, as I believe mixing is just as much of an art as the writing of music. Every individual has their own preferences and things they like to hear. But for the sake of the game, we're trying to keep them all relatively similar, and in the process of doing so, hopefully I can share some tips and tricks that I've learned along the way. Most of the great techniques I've picked up have been from other 'amateur' producers who are doing kinda the same thing I'm doing here.

Just as a disclaimer, I am not a traditionally trained audio engineer. I am constantly learning myself! But in sharing these things, I hope that it can bring someone in the earlier stages through some of the annoying growing pains.

Granted it's 2:30am here, I have to admit I was a bit all over the place at times! Not my most articulate of moments lol. Sometimes it's tricky to do your thing and also explain it as you go (ie. yeah, we'll save parallel compression for next time, forget I mentioned it), especially when you're a bit sleepy on top of it. But I hope that even just watching the order of operations alongside my rambling of mixing philosophy will get at least a point or two across.

I'm also happy to address any questions or anything I may have missed in the comments (or on Discord)! Get at me. Happy Saturday!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey @harrisonmir, great video and very good production skills! :)

Did you render the Stems by yourself? If so, what Synths did you use? They sound very good! :)

Would you tell me how you selected more channels in the mixer and how you moved all the marked sliders at once? I was searching for that a few times and couldnt find out.

Clipping...

The clipping (as far as i understood) sometimes occurs because the detection of the clip takes some time for calculation and it isnt very accurate. This is why one should set the Volume sliders a little lower than -0.1 db.

For a more accurate approach you can try TB-EBU Loudness. It's a free VST that even measures Preceived Loudness which is very usefull too. TB-EBU should show you more clipping than the regular FL Studio displays.

https://www.kvraudio.com/product/tb-ebu-loudness-v3-by-toneboosters

Hey man really appreciate that recommendation! That's really good to know too. I've heard of folks leaving that margin on the master, but I never really knew the exact reasoning behind it. I usually leave like 0.2db of headroom but until this point, I usually just did it on blind faith :).

Oh and yeah of course! Two ways to group select mixer channels:

  • Double click and drag is one way for ones that happen to be relatively together already.
  • If you need to get more choose-y, you can also hold Ctrl+Shift and click each one to multi-select mixer channels.

Thanks for stopping by @remotehorst23!

Oh to answer your first question too, this is a composition by @isaria so she bounced all the stems out for me. I was just helping her along with the mixing process. Yeah, she's brilliant with all the little nuances/details she adds to the arrangement, I was wondering some of the same questions myself!

You can actually hear this tune and all the other ones we've been doing on a Steem Monsters Choon playlist I made if you're interested!

The Soundtrack is really epic! I love it :)

The Violins in the first Track remind me on my Synthesizers. Does @isaria use Native Instrument Synths too? If so, i need to learn how to handle them better. :D

This is nice, mixing is what really makes a recorded song, keep the good work... 👍👍

Thanks man, much appreciated @khayswain! Welcome to Steemit as well!

Hi @harrisonmir!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.512 which ranks you at #1881 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 12 places in the last three days (old rank 1893).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 223 contributions, your post is ranked at #140.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85