7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 5 : Manowar – Wheels of Fire

in #music6 years ago

I was in high school. Don’t ask me what grade, I don’t remember. Yes, I am that old…

And it was announced… Manowar are coming to town…

It was huge …

We’re talking about the late 90s and Thessaloniki a city that it is not the capital Athens and a band of the caliber of Manowar that is visiting for a live.

It was huge …

Obviously, I took a ticket and when the big day arrived I went to the venue as early as I could…

I stood in line for hours in the hot Greek sun and managed to be in the front rows…

Not sure if it was the first or the second song of the night. But I remember it as if now… The intro of the motorbikes and the band playing the song…

And I ain’t a big guy… Then I was even smaller… A mass of people is moving ahead… Heads are banging… The music is deafening … The pressure is too much for me … I have to go to the back …

I was able to get back and found my normal breath… I stood and saw what was happening… People headbanging, moshing and having fun … A band delivering a solid performance …

Don’t get me wrong I had the time of my life… And I am still remembering this live… Hey, it was my first live… Then many followed …

I’ve seen Manowar one more time to a festival in Athens. And because Manowar are … Manowar I grew a dislike for them… On a personal level not musical…

But I still enjoy their heavy metal anthems like this one …

The Rules...
-Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
-Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
-Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
-Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
-Mention one person who should do this on each day.
-Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
-Follow @greek-trail for great content made by our fellow Greeks!

I nominate @everybody and if you don’t like the rules , change them !

And until the next trip on the music memory lane …
Be healthy , Smile and Steem !

footer.png

Sort:  

true metal

Learn little ball ... :)

Haha.... oh my... a looking-over-your-shoulder kinda Sunday. :) Enjoy!

It can be fun from time to time ... :)

Haha man every day amazing songs..
I will start this challenge too :)

Yes, go for it ...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

δε πιστεύω να έσπασες καμιά κιθάρα;;; :p

οχι , ημανε μικρο τοτες ... :)

Our first impression is the strongest, sometimes it can not even be destroyed for years! I also liked to enjoy your new dose of true metal!

Yes , Manowar is the truest really real heavy metal band . :)

🤘 Great Headbanging Song🤘

Time to start this challenge :)

Yes, and let me know ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14