The New Aristocrats – Review

in #music6 years ago

I have learned a lot from The New Aristocrats. Mainly, I did not know 80’s freestyle dance-pop was a thing. After a few google searches, however, I discovered that it really is a thing. Where have I been since the 80’s? I guess in the 90’s. And then the 2000’s.

But anyway, apparently there is a whole big movement of people who wished we still used a can of Aquanet in our hair everyday and wore a lot of pink. And that’s the first thing I think The New Aristocrats have going for them: they have found their micro-niche, their very specific sub-genre.

This is crucial in this new age of music marketing. It is really hard to define your own sound and find your specific audience. They seem to know exactly who their audience is and they are giving them exactly what they want. Listening to their music really is like stepping back in time. They really nail the 1980’s sound, vocal phrasing and lyrical sensibility.
This for sure harks back to the days of Madonna, Sheila E, Bananarama and Stacy Q. Matter of fact, a lot of their songs make me want to pop in the Karate Kid and sing along to Cruel Summer. Like their song “I’ve Been Watching You.” It is classic Bananarama. They really do well recreating the 80’s sound and all the nostalgia that goes along with it. I felt myself reaching down to french-roll my jeans as soon as I hit play.

READ MORE

PROMOTE YOUR MUSIC NOW

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JoeJoeKeys from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73