Story Of My Life : Why I choose to go into MUSIC BUSINESS

in #music6 years ago

Growing up I wanted to be so many things and more. I remember in Primary 4( Grade 4 or what ever you call elementary 4 in your country, at least you get the hint) I was asked by my teacher what I wanted to be and proudly thinking it was an occupation I said " I want to be a millionaire" well at the time millions seemed like the height of ones monetary value, if at the time I knew billions worth more than millions I'd probably what to be a billionaire laughs. Later on I wanted to become a doctor, well the dream only lasted until I saw a friend got injured and I discovered I couldn't stand blood. One time too I wanted to be I lawyer but I just wasn't cut out to read and study that long ever.

image
image source

After a while I wanted to be an engineer because I felt well I can stand machines, since it just involved understanding some dumb mechanical principles and adding one + one to get two hmm pretty simple I thought.

It's so funny how much dreams we were filled with as kids and how we all couldn't wait to grow up and start achieving them. Now I'm all grown up and have been faced with the harsh realities of life, I don't want to be an adult anymore I'd rather go back to being a kid. Well its already too late now...

Growing up entailed I had to man up to make some important decisions that will in turn affect my life and that wasn't the problem, the problem was I was also gonna be responsible for the outcomes of my decisions weather good or bad. Well as I child I just sat and watched my parents do all does and its easier to always blame them for whatever the outcome maybe.

One of such decisions was choosing a profession I wanted to do for the rest of my life. This was a huge struggle as my parents wanted and engineer as a son but I had passion for something different MUSIC. Well well I had to go to school and study engineering I guess I wasn't ready for the responsibility and outcome of being rebellious. After studying and managing to finish, I worked for maybe one year and it got to a point I got frustrated with the whole employment thing. I guess I just wasn't wired for such.
After I resigned, the reality of what I just did dawned on me then I realized it was easier said than done as I was now sure I wasn't going into be seeing any alerts at the end of the month or any bonus pay checks. The only ones I would see are the ones I made and here I was about to go for a course in Music business with all my saving. What was I to do? this was the least of my problems as my family members thought music wasn't a profession, the saw it more as a distraction and they were eagarly waiting to see me fail and prove them right.

image
image source

After my course in music business I started my Record label Konastone Records and signed my first artist. Then I realized I was in this for life. One misconceptions people have about music is that its an avenue to make fast money, this is quite laughable as they do not realize the amount of hard work they have to put in for what they do to produce what they want. One thing I learnt in my years of experience with artists is that a large number of them had just the right talents for the market and just a few had the know how on how to monetize their craft. Music is life I say to them sometimes, music is beyond adding up a few amazing notes to produce good sound, Music ia a serious business and should be taken seriously. Well I tell you more about it some other time.

My success Story

Truth be told I am not where I want to be yet but am damn close. Do I have any regrets whatsoever? HELL NO! Without trying to be proud I can say that one of my major accomplishments/fulfillment happens when I meet a raw talent and we work together and later I see them doing well. The money comes sometimes and sometimes doesn't come as expected but I'm happy doing what I truely love doing and I am still learning along the way. It might take time but yeah am not in a hurry its a journey and Hell yeah! I'm enjoying the ride.

Advice

Your future is in your hands, don't let's your parents, society, family define your tomorrow. Get a dream and hold on to it, if I tell you there wouldn't be challenges along the way then I'm deceiving you but what should keep you going is the passion that got you started at first be the best you can be and enjoy yourself while making it happen.

Thanks for reading
@josefpius handwriting

Sort:  

Hello @josefpius, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28