Week 4: WEEZER (420 to 30: A Music Retrospective)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

One of my earliest introductions to alternative rock that was a mainstay on my middle school playlists. Weezer has gone through many phases over the years with an output that hasn't burned out yet and they remain mainstays on alternative rock stations. The Buddy Holly glasses are on.

420 to 30: A Music Retrospective

60 Weeks to 30 Years-Old, with 420 Songs by 60 Different Artists



Here's 7 of my favorites from Weezer.

Week 4: WEEZER

Weezer.png




HashPipeSingle.png

#022/420 - Weezer, “Hash Pipe”

(originally from 2001, “Hash Pipe/I Do”)


For their 2001 album, Weezer would have to start over with a new bassist, Mikey Welsh, taking them a decidedly greener direction. In the sense that now their album cover was green instead of blue.

This was the lead single and features one of their most instantly recognizable opening riffs and makes for one of their better songs. I was lucky enough to smoke hashish once while traveling and even though I didn’t happen to play this song then, I did witness a knife fight in an Arab night club at the time and looking back, this song would have fit the moment.

Also has a really cool B-side, “I Do”, with a completely different tone.


PinkertonAlbum.png

#023/420 - Weezer, “Pink Triangle”

(originally from 1996, Pinkerton)


“I’m dumb, she’s a lesbian. I thought I had found the one. We were good as married in my mind, but married in my mind’s no good.”

The story of the “pink triangle” is that it was symbol originally forced upon gay men in Nazi concentration camps to denote their homosexuality, but since has been reclaimed as a symbol of strength and power for gay rights. Negative turned positive.

Besides being a catchy song, I liked how Weezer would write songs about love not working out in sort of an “aw, man, I suck” kind of way, like real life, rather than being super angry or super emo about it. Here it’s a patch of a pink triangle on her sleeve that tips off Mr. Cuomo that it ain’t going to work out. A shame indeed.

One girl I liked when I was in high school (we even kissed!), sure enough, turned out to be a lesbian. And I turned out to be dumb, but we already knew that part. And I thought of this song.

“If everyone’s a little queer, why can’t she be a little straight?”


Weezer1994Album.png

#024/420 - Weezer, “Buddy Holly”

(originally from 1994, Weezer)


One of Weezer’s first and still one of their very best. Also one of their shorter songs, more of a Ramones length than your typical Weezer, which works well for them here. Leave ‘em wanting more.

I remember back in middle school even the punk rock kids liked this song so that’s how I really knew it was cool.

The thing I never got is, though, why are they singing about how much they look like Buddy Holly when nobody on the cover of this damn album even has glasses on!


ElScorchoSingle.png

#025/420 - Weezer, “El Scorcho”

(originally from 1996, "El Scorcho/You Gave Your Love to Me Softly")


I’ve noticed a lot of times 2 of my favorite tracks from an artist appear back-to-back on one of their albums. Is this psychological on my part or on the part of the artist? At any rate, in the case of Weezer’s Pinkerton (sounds dirty) it’s the back-to-back “El Scorcho” and “Pink Triangle” that won me over most. This was the first single from the album which was, as I understand, a commercial failure unlike their first album. Too bad because Pinkerton is right up there with the first one in terms of quality.

I like the whiny, noobish quality of the vocals here. “So I went to your room, and read your diary!” sounds like a line from Hodge-Stansson’s “Unforgivable” videos on YouTube. This is the sound I think Weezer is most skillful at and this song is one of the very best examples of that style on display.

Also one of their best refrains. Drunk-sounding, discordant group singing on noisy alt rock songs makes for pretty fun times.



TheGreatestManThatEverLivedSingle.png

#026/420 - Weezer, “The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)”

(originally from 2008, "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived (Variations on a Shaker Hymn)")


I’ll argue there’s two better, but I would have no problem with someone calling this Weezer’s greatest song that ever lived. 12 different styles in under 6 minutes, this was Weezer’s return to form in 2008 after a string of, maybe we could say, a little overly commercial releases. I do like a good handful of songs from that era, but some of those songs can get old pretty quick, like “Beverly Hills”.

This, on the other hand, is an awesome song. It’s one of their most unique entries as a group, definitely one of the most memorable, and even though it’s fair to say Weezer shouldn’t make any full rap tracks based on the 25 seconds of that we get towards the beginning, in the context of this song and in the context of their persona as a group, it works as tribute and parody. The choral sections rock and the homages to Jeff Buckley, Aerosmith, Nirvana, Green Day, and The Andrews Sisters are all big successes in my opinion.

Along with “Pork and Beans”, this is definitely a song later in their catalog worth checking out.


Weezer1994Album.png

#027/420 - Weezer, “Undone – The Sweater Song”

(originally from 1994, Weezer)


It’s not often that I find a band where they’ve had a successful career spanning three decades with 12 studio albums, but where their first single remains their best. However, in the case of Weezer, it is so. The Sweater Song is still king.

“If you want to destroy my sweater, hold this thread as I walk away.”

Now that’s a great line. Lyricists could spend their whole lives trying and never write a line that good. Congratulations to Rivers Cuomo.

Also I love all songs with groovy party dialog incorporated in. There’s something very appealing about someone asking for a ride to a party that their friends don’t want to go to in the middle of a song. It just is. You might think, that’s not that interesting of thing to have someone say… but people don’t really say interesting things usually do they? Suddenly I’m surrounded by wood paneling, wearing flannel, having a beer in a basement under tungsten light bulbs with pull chains and everyone in the room is still conscious of the Counting Crows. It’s a transportive song.

The opening drums and plodding guitar rhythm, the clash of noise closing the song out, dare I say, this is one of the greatest songs of the 90s.

“Watch me unravel, I’ll soon be naked. Lying on the floor, lying on the floor, I’ve come undone.”


Weezer1994Album.png

#028/420 - Weezer, “In the Garage”

(originally from 1994, Weezer)


While “The Sweater Song” and “Buddy Holly” were what drew me into Weezer’s catalog, this is the song that became my favorite.

Even though I barely caught any of the references this song makes at the time (and still barely do, this song’s lyrics are how I even know who Ace Frehley is, sorry Kiss fans) it felt like a song that related to me on a more real level with the same kind of transportive quality of “The Sweater Song”, but one that extended to your youth, your comfort zone, your hiding place.

“In the garage, I feel safe, no one cares about my ways.” The garage can be a metaphor or physical, a place set aside for you to explore your creativity on your own, be it garage tunes or garage movies. Obviously a concept that was important to me writing and making films since my childhood.

Musically, it contains one of the most charged guitar riffs from any of their songs against one of their only uses of the harmonica in their entire catalog. It’s got the true spirit of the 90s in its blood, and the real 90s neighborhood feel, not just what was on TV. It connects with me, makes me think of being a kid, and remains my favorite from Weezer to this day.

While I haven’t kept up with Weezer as much in recent years, missing a lot of their newer releases, it’s been fun revisiting their albums I grew up with and they remain the band I associate most with “alternative rock”.



Speaking of harmonicas, next week I’ll be looking back at a man known for his use of the harmonica early on in his career, who is very difficult to narrow down only 7 songs for, and the first artist of the 60 who I have actually seen perform live, Robert Zimmerman, a.k.a. Bob Dylan.

(PS: It’s probably not going to be easy to find YouTube links for Dylan songs.)

420 to 30: A Music Retrospective

60 Weeks to 30 Years-Old, with 420 Songs by 60 Different Artists

Week 1: Johnny Cash
Week 2: The Jackson 5/The Jacksons
Week 3: A Tribe Called Quest

View the full list of "420 Songs" here: https://tinyurl.com/y8fboudu (Google spreadsheet link)

Sort:  

Thank you for writing this. =W= blue album is my all time favorite, and some pinkerton... For me, they filled the gap in the vacuum of Nirvana...

Agreed on all counts, the first two are definitely my favorites and blue is the best. Look forward to Nirvana in a future week too!

Bring it on, bro! Nirvanaa 😍😍😍

so much detail in your article, fantastic! We need more music aficionados like you!

I always love to read people's stories about what happened in the past while listening different songs or bands. More or less we all grow up with someone's music in the veins which takes us through different phases.
Later on we discover that music has this power to heal our souls and even be the only one who actually stay by our side helping us to keep going.
I never heard of WEEZER before, probably because I wasn't even born then, but I did enjoy to read the stories you have and to also play some of your favourite songs attached in the post. :)

Thanks Gabriela, so true! :) And you weren't even born when Weezer came out! Now you make me feel a bit old too haha but I suppose that is the point of this exercise to 30. Hopefully I can introduce or just remind you of more great music from the past in coming weeks.

Oh no, no way! This is not what I meant and you are not too old. No one is too old unless they keep deep inside their heart a little kid then they will be forever young. ♥️

:) No worries! Time marches on! If I wasn't a little bit old, I wouldn't have all this to look back on. Still plenty to look forward to as well. And the kid in me is alive! Even though he doesn't understand why I like coffee.

LOL! Child me is also confused by this! Congrats on the curie man!

There's always a group that plays best for me, but basically am into knowing about all artists that produce the best.

Now I have loved the history of Weezer.
Right since.. 94, the 1996 you gave your love to me softly sounds a very beautiful romance appreciation that depicts how things should be.

He thought he'd love her, but he was disappointed. She way lesbian.
Oops.

There always are many negative factors that hinder relationships, like class, family,..

Nice song.

I'm rubbish with names so as I was reading your post I thought... hmmm... I don't know this Weezer... I'm going to have to check them out. I couldn't get your youtube links to play (apparently I'm in the wring country or something!) so I finished reading your post and then hopped over to youtube to have a listen. I went straight to Buddy Holly... and I'm instantly back to a party - trying to look cool in the corner whilst nodding along to the music. I watched and listened to a few more of their earlier tracks, and sure enough, they had formed a great deal of the soundtrack to my formative years... without me even realising it!

Fab post, I really enjoyed finding out all about this great band,
E x

Ah, yes, I am sure some of these links are probably blocked in some countries. I wish I had a better way to see that information when sharing. But glad you could still find them pretty easily! Thanks for sharing, I have had similar moments where I suddenly connected a bunch of songs I knew to the same group. The Rolling Stones come to mind.

Seems like you might be a few weeks behind, but its good to have you back on Steem!

So far this is the band that I have the least connection with, but they do come highly recommended from many sources, apparently have a ton of great material! Let me listen to some of these songs and I'll let you know if I agree with you or not ;p

PS: Don't forget to save your template off of steem! After 7 days you can't open it up again and copy! (I know you know this now, but this is for the benefit of those who follow in our footsteps:)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi jozefkrichards,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @jozefkrichards! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi jozefkrichards,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

That's about now. Apologies for the short notice. I will try to delay the posting to give you some time to respond. Thank you.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]


Curie Badge transparency.png

Sounds great, thanks very much Akpan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79