You love it or hate it! The unforgettable „Last Christmas” by Wham!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

You love it or hate it! The unforgettable „Last Christmas” by Wham!

GEORGEMICHAEL1.jpg
source

There are not so many songs that stick with us like “Last Christmas” by Wham!

Radio stations and tv programs push this classic to the edge by playing it non-stop, especially during the winter season. So how could we forget about it?

GEORGEMICHAEL 2.jpg
source

GEORGEMICHAEL 3.jpg
source

The song was released in 1984 (album: “Music From The Edge Of Heaven”).

It was written and produced by George Michael. The song ended by being one of George Michael greatest hits, having multiple! covers (among others: Coldplay, Kim Wilde, Jimmy Eat World, Kylie Minogue, and Taylor Swift).
Amazing success taking into account that the song didn't even chart on the US Hot 100 after its initial release in 1984!
Fun fact – did you know that the song was written by Michael in his childhood bedroom, while Andrew Ridgeley (the second half of Wham! duo), was downstairs watching television? This room has its history, as this is where they had spent hours as kids recording pastiches of radio shows and jingles.

Charity for Ethiopia

Wham! donated all of their "Last Christmas" royalties to the Ethiopian famine cause, the worst famine in Ethiopia in a century! It is worth mentioning that this cause united many other artists as Bob Geldof organised the charity supergroup Band Aid (starring George Michael obviously) . Its single, "Do They Know It's Christmas?", was released on December 1984 and soon became Britain's best-selling single!

But should it be a Christmas standard??

Not really;) as the song is yet another love song, that talks about a man’s first Christmas after a break up. Despite this, it has become an annual Christmas classic known and, most importantly, sang throughout the world!

I must be sincere and admit that it is not my favourite George's song.

Nevertheless, when I hear it, it makes me feel somehow cozy or, on the contrary, melancholic. Like a teenager, I am aware! ;) I particularly like this part:
“now I know what a fool I’ve been, but if you kissed me now, I know you’d fool me again”
This few words captures the way defiance masks hope. And, frankly, shows how vulnerable we are when it comes to love and desire. How easily we forgive. It’s hard to disagree with George, isn’t?

2017 Christmas Number One?

“White Christmas” is known as the best-selling single to never reach the top of the UK charts. In 2017, a fan campaign returned the song to the charts. The purpose? To make the song number one on the anniversary of the death of George, who passed away in the early hours of Christmas day in 2016. Unfortunately for George’s fans, it is Ed Sheeran who won this year's Christmas Number One, for the first time , with his song “Perfect”.

So all together (and don’t pretend you don’t know how the music goes ;P):

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I'll give it to someone special

Now a few questions to you my friends.
• What is your favourite Christmas standard?
• Do you get boring of those songs or, on the contrary, they awake the Christmas mood in you?

Cheers,
kasia

Sort:  

Congratulations @k-a-s-i-a, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 5028 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1380.75. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I am new here and you are welcome

Shout out all the new ppl haha I'm new I just up voted you!

I am amazed to read this article because after reading this article my mind becomes open. I am aware, I have been too closed with new things and feel already know. It affected me that I became a Sok Tahu

This article reminds me to keep digging and keep searching for information and new things.
But I have not understood the substance of the positive thought itself as to what and how to make our minds become positive. Maybe in another article can explain a little bit the meaning of positive thoughts.

Thank you for your comment! Good luck with everything dear @muhammadhaekal :)

beside like and hate there is love, and i loved this

Thanks for your comment @soufiani!

I liked George Michael and Wham songs! This music is unforgettable along with all the other hits!

GM was definitely extremely creative and talented! Which song is your favourite?

I would say Careless Whisper was my favorite song! I also like One More Try and Father Figure from the Faith album!

Wow, great compilation :) <3

Greatest Xmas song of all time!

I would argue but i definitely enjoy it a lot :)

I kinda thought I disliked the song, though I sing along to it and it certainly forms part of the Christmas buildup. However, I think you've sold me on it! haha. I had no idea they donated the royalties. I had no idea I would even be interested in a post about this song ;-) but I was fascinated by how quickly you have gained a high respect rating, high votes etc ... so I thought "let's go see how @k-a-s-i-a has managed to turn this into something worth reading" and I discovered it was charming. :-D
Your style is really engaging and I like how you ask us questions to get us involved so I'll answer them :-D

Fav Christmas song in our house this year [and last] is "Baby It's Cold Outside" ... even though we realise it's a bit of a seduction job!


My dd17 sings the woman's part and my dd10 sings Buble! Dd17 has learned the piano score and we can tell when she wakes up because we'll hear it from her bedroom. She starts getting ready for Christmas August 1st every year! Since she was tiny she had to have lullabies of Christmas songs and Christmas carols all year round so I suppose it is no surprise Christmas [and its songs] last at least 1/2 our year.

Question 2: Never boring! There's something upbeat about them ... even the Pogues!

Dear @sallylloyd! thank you for your kind comment! i'm doing my best ;) as for your Christmas, it must be super charming and joyful to see all your family engaged and in Christmas mood! U def did a good job as a mother! <3

Ah! Bless you! Thanks. 😄 I certainly spent a long while on it so far and put a lot of thought and passion into it because I need my liberty more than anything else to sustain me and I didn’t have it as a child ... and it’s what I want for my children - to give them a peaceful parenting tradition & the freedom of mind and awareness of the need to question everything. 💪🏻

I hope that there will be people here on steemit who will find it as inspiring as i do! and will follow your example! sending love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74