"The Ice Is Getting Thinner" (Death Cab for Cutie Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #music6 years ago


Be warned: This song is relentlessly sad. I don't play it too often - I've been straying away from 'downer' songs, but it's beautiful nonetheless, and I was thinking about it today. I hope you enjoy my acoustic cover of "The Ice Is Getting Thinner" from Death Cab for Cutie's 6th studio album "Narrow Stairs":

Getting really tired of recording videos with this broken phone... It won't be long before it fills up and I won't be able to record more videos until it's fixed. One-take videos are still doable though. Phone fix is on the way... Until then, I hope ya'll dig these simple vids :)

Here's the original track:

Lyrics:

We're not the same, dear, as we used to be
The seasons have changed and so have we
There was little we could say, and even less we could do
To stop the ice from getting thinner under me and you

We bury our love in the wintery grave
A lump in the snow was all that remained
But we stayed by its side as the days turned to weeks
And the ice kept getting thinner with every word that we'd speak

And when spring arrived
We were taken by surprise when the floes under our feet bled into the sea
And nothing was left for you and me

We're not the same, dear
And it seems to me
There's nowhere we can go
With nothing underneath

And it saddens me to say
But we both know, well, it's true
That the ice was getting thinner
Under me and you

The ice was getting thinner
Under me and you

Thanks for watching/listening, Steemians! <3

Hey, you! Have you heard about the minnow uprising? For more info, click here: https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/july-1-minnow-uprising-kicks-off


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74