Sitting with the band on the patio(!!)

in #music6 years ago

Band and AJ.JPG

Those exclamation marks are because the patio is open - finally! It still cooled off enough that we needed sweaters but this was the second week the band was outside and that's always great. We Canadians love our patios. After being cooped up all winter, we just want to sit outside.

The band is Barry Buse and Redneck Limousine and they are playing blues at my regular Sunday haunt. I mentioned them in a previous post playing at the Waterfront Gastropub in Carleton Place, Ontario. We were sitting at the table right next to Barry but I was sitting back in my chair for the photos so it looks like I'm behind him. I told him that from the front it would look like I was part of the band. I can't remember his comical remark but he knows I'm working on the piano and the guys are pretty encouraging.

This time, there is an extra player off to the right. That's AJ on the spoons. If he's there, sometimes they invite him up because his spoons are a real hit with the crowd. Have closer look.

AJ.JPG

I always get a kick out of how close they are to the water. A few weeks ago it was higher, maybe a foot below the patio. It's amazing how fast the weather changes and the water level goes down. Winter seemed to go right into summer this year with little spring. Well, technically it's still spring. I stood on my chair to get the bird's eye view of Bill's drums. If you're interested, he's playing a cocktail set.

Bill drums 1.JPG

He spotted me and posed without missing a single beat. See how close that water is? Now look across the river (the Mississippi River) at the City Hall. It's a beautiful old building and pretty in the sunlight.

City Hall.JPG

These little kids were fascinated by the instruments. The guys said the kids usually go for the drums but these two had a good look at everything. By the way, I don't show children's faces in my photos.

little boy pointing.JPG

There you go. A typical Sunday afternoon. Maybe next time you can stay longer, listen to the band, and join us for a drink on the patio.
smalleststylized keyboard.png

References

Sunday Blues with Redneck Limousine

Images

All photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

I have to buy you a brewski there one of these days...

You would love it. It gets nicer as the weather warms up.

ok, next time I head North then, June sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99