My Good Ol’e Nessie

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Music, some people couldn’t care less, some people can’t live without it. I tend to go in phases in this. Some weeks I will have music playing literally every second of the day, and some weeks I want nothing more but silence.


But why does some songs touch you so much more than others and are we capable of listening this one song on repeat the whole day long. I don’t really know, it has to be something with the feeling that these specific songs bring up by you.


Ol’e Nessie - Mastodon








Coming from the 2002 absolute masterpiece album ‘Remission’, Ol’e Nessie most likely didn’t get the attention that it actually deserves. Yeah I know, ‘March of the Fire Ants’ is also on this album which is also such a powerful and strong song, but Ol’e Nessie literally has everything.


Last week I was watching some cover band play and again I was thinking about how I should consider starting to play bass guitar (my lord my neighbors will hate me so much, and I will get thrown out of this country). Now I have to admit the bass guitar isn’t the strongest instrument in this particular song, (did you listen to the drums??? my god what a machine) but it does contribute so much in the darkness, which you especially hear in the first minute I find.


Sanction lived in
Taught by masters
Flight of giving
Be mine always
Here for duration
Miss my sweet love
Times of sailing
Keep me grounded
Make us sure of future sanctions

The lyrics are short and as always cryptical in Mastodons songs, but to be honest I would have loved it more if this song would have stayed fully instrumental. This song does not need any words in it, the feeling does it all. Subtle build up, intens middle part, totally different outro.


To me this is a song that can literally fit every location playing on repeat (maybe not social ones though hahahaha), because it has this certain flow in it. Riding a bike, trying to study, working computer stuff, I don’t know it just keeps you focussed.


Now I know goals should be realistic, and you should give them time. So hereby I am setting a goal for myself.


In 10 years I will be capable of playing Ol’e Nessie on a bassuitar, let me tell you that!





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Sort:  

Gewoon de bass ter hand nemen en spelen maar...de buurman/vrouw zal je dankbaar zijn omdat je ze uit de dagelijkse sleur laat ontwaken.
Het is misschien wel Troy Sanders, je weet maar nooit...
mast.png
Laat horen die diepe klanken!!
in het slechtste geval kan je nog repeteren met een hoofdtelefoon

Dat is absoluut sowieso een goed idee om met een koptelefoon aan de gang te gaan voor de lieve vrede van mijn oefenskills hahaha

DO IT! Play the bass! If you learnt to play bass guitar we could compose a piece of music together!

YEAH!! It will be a multi year plan but then surely we can get jamming together!

I had this song on repeat a few days back it's my favourite and want to learn that dance but my legs won't do what my mind wants the curse of being 1.91 I think. 😂

Some reggae vibes to start the day on this cover!!
You dont even need dancing skills for this, as long as you just easily bounce to the rhythm! (dancing tango is advanced mannnnnn)

What a cool and energetic fresh song! Getting summervibes here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74