Gorgeous, haunting Canadian folk song! (cover by @kayclarity)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Totally sad; totally lovely. The Canadian spirit, friendly and funny as it is, is at core one of deep melancholy, particularly in relation to our bone-chilling, life-threatening winters.

I hope you enjoy this one. I loved singing it.

Lyrics below.

xx,
Kay

Okay, PS: where do I find my passwords page now? Things have changed since I was away a lot this year!

Frobisher Bay, written by James Gordon

Cold is the Arctic Sea
Far are your arms from me
Long will this winter be
Frozen in Frobisher Bay
Frozen in Frobisher Bay

"One more whale," our captain cried
"One more whale and well beat the ice."
But the winter star was in the sky
The seas were rough; the winds were high.

Deep were the crashing waves
That tore our whaler's mast away
And dark are these sunless days
Waiting for the ice to break.

Strange is the whaler's fate
To be saved from the raging waves
Only to waste away
Frozen in this lonely grave.

Sort:  

Brilliant! This is the kind of content that should make up a good percentage of what’s in Trending.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow fantastic, I got chill bumps!

amazing voice. liked and added to my playlist on youtube ! also I shared it for my girlfriend and I cannot wait until she will listen it

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

That's awesome music ! I like the lyrics as well. Looking more such wonderful posts from you. Thanks.

Congratulations @kayclarity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87