Are You a Music Lover? Steem it.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

ml.jpg

Have you heard that the Swedish House Mafias are back? Look, I love those guys. They can really cook up good tunes for rave music festivals. Even rebels like me play some of their corny mainstream stuff from time to time. But.. I was there at one of their "last tour" raves back in 2012, before the trio disbanded.

So now I'm feeling like I've been scammed into splurging on what was supposed to be a limited-edition and momentous occasion for the Electro gods! I guess the market has been brutal on their solo endeavours. Over-popularised music tends to kill itself anyway. This is why I've gone into the ultimate underground music sewers ever since receiving my cosmic enlightenment back in 2013. Chill out. Discover Vaporwave™.

Buy it now for free at https://underratedrecords.bandcamp.com/

Nothing in life is predictable, but setting into mediocrity milking the cash cow is. I wouldn't say that SHM sucks, but the break-up has got to be about moving past their comfort zones from being together for the past 50 years or so, no?

Perhaps $200,000 a year in the afterlife proved to be too measly and unsustainable for a rockstar life. So here's some good old milking technique: just rebrand and make a comeback. Swedish House Clowns Mafias. Now back with 25% more squishy red-noise!

Just messing around here. If you guys are reading this, I just want to say that yall are real artists. In the meantime, all music lovers ought to know how to monetise their love for music for the real music revolution to begin! Here's how.

1. Write about it!

Music is universal and just about everyone likes whatever music they like. So write about it, like I do with my natural selections. Do reviews like @theneedledrop - music albums, events, etc. Production tutorials? Rant about industry clowns. Share your favourite music video or maybe even festival clips with some of your thoughts. Whatever. Just do it if it interests you so much.

fashion-legs-notebook-working.jpg

This is the essence of Steem for anyone to start earning anything around this corner of the Internet! Even $0.01 is better than nothing posting on Facebook or Reddit. You can earn Steem writing on websites like Steemit and Busy.org.

2. Become an open-source model

Musicians, especially lazy DJs like me sometimes just like using pictures of good-looking people for our image covers. Just do a Youtube search on "deep house" and you'll know what I'm talking about.

image.png

I mean, where do these DJs get their models from? Probably shoots of their model friends, perhaps hired. But if you love music and would like to be part of such covers, why not just share your photos with the expressed permission for anyone to use it openly? You'll probably get some votes. But of course, there's no guarantee and it's likely that you'd need to have a legit account without looking like you've stolen someone else's identity!

Perhaps I'd consider being an open-source male model at some point too myself. Gotta twerk those eyebags, pouted lips, mysterious shades, and forlorn eyes..

Funnily, I tried to Google out "open source models" and "free deep house modelling pics" earlier for more choices on my mix cover update, only to end up with the following images..

free.png

Anyway, if you want to listen to my mainstream shit, check out my runner-up mix for a contest back in 2012, now freshly re-titled as Celebrate Life. Just milking it here with a rebrand!

cl.png
An accidentally poetic image cover.

3. Share your music!

You make music, and you're good at it. Share your process. Share your audio files with the community. Just try something new. The world is changing anyway. Open-source your music! Perhaps even try music open mic out?

While I've been out of the music game ever since starting Steem, I've been thinking of getting back into the mashup life soon, renewing myself with mobile solutions. They seem to have been maturing over the couple of years ever since I went on hiatus. Check out the video below by Roli:-

Conclusion

Blockchains like Steem provides many ways for all music lovers to monetise their energy and enthusiasm. There are probably many more ways if one cares to be creative enough. If you already have a following, why not invite your fans over and also reward your most engaged subscriber or even collaborator? The brave new world of music beckons. It's time to escape competition through authenticity.

The best way to build your account is not to just focus on one thing like music reviews. Just use it like you would any of your accounts on social media. Sharing more aspects in a network builds trust while diversifying your social content.

Note: This platform is still lacking a built-in communities feature, but what kind of music communities would you like to see?

*Images used are attribution-free.


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Steemit has come to be a platform for diversity. No one is restricted to long posts as blogs. A site for music on steem blockchain will be great

Well. I’ve been trying to build the #electronicmusic tag since last December. It used to be empty, now it is not. I’ve got a few more irons in the fire to try and build on it, more on that in the future though.

The hope is that it becomes popular enough that it warrants splitting into even more specific subtags. Or communities comes out and I can do something with that!

Yes! Good going. I've not been any music subreddit so i really have no idea how it's gonna be different..

To be honest, I have no idea. I’m not really a Redditor, so it’ll be a bit of journey of discovery! As long as it provides a corner for people to grow in, then all good by me.

I commend @fourfourfun for his efforts and encourage you all to join us in #electronicmusic and #recordpool

I've actually always wanted to create my own mashups and remixes but honestly, I have no idea where and how to start! I tried following some YouTube videos but you need all kind of empty files with and without voice and what not. So confusing!

Also, if I don't forget it, I post #tunethursday. It's where I simply share some music on Thursdays, hehe. It can be anything really. Generally it's music I randomly bump into which I didn't know about before or something I've liked for a longer period of time.

Speaking about monetising your music - I've recently discovered platform which is going to be focussing on this all - imusify. I might write a more detailed post later as I really do think there are a billion people out here just starting to simply struggling to earn some money with their music. YouTube is simply too hard to compete within.

https://www.samplemagic.com/details/72/the-secrets-of-house-music-production-pdf
I learned from this and just messing around with the softwares..

is there adoption for imusify yet? actual blockchain adoption is the part most projects haven't pulled off :D

Would that program also work to make popmusic thingie mashups? I guess that's more kinda my genre :D

What do you mean exactly with Blockchain Adoption? It is quite new but looks like they have big plans.

yea fruityloops is easiest to use..

blockchain adoption, like steem and its relatively large userbase now. yea, exactly my point. now it's all big plans, but nobody knows if anyone's gonna adopt whatever anyone else is building now.. the same for most coins in the market!

Alright, I will check it out! Thanks :D

And that is a good point though, but I guess only time will tell. They have to start somewhere!

nice one bro! i see a lot of mixes using pretty women as the artwork.. it is true.. you kinda do have to be more unique than the average to get noticed here on steemit!

haha wanna model for my mixtape cover??

I'd like A model from your mimxtape cover if that's possible.. I don't think you'd get many hits with my mug on the cover! lol

I would like to see a LIVE weekend CLUB scene that anyone can look into different MUSIC party goers that stream their feed ALL around the world.

  • Tokyo
  • Bangkok
  • Amsterdam
  • Moscom
  • Brasil
  • New York
  • Las Vegas
  • Los Angeles

That's cool. I've thought the same for something like Steem's Global BBQ Network lol

You just made me hungry @kevinwong

:)

How hard is it to create a STEEM APP that would automatically send out notifications when one of our followers go live?

Relatively trivial. There's already an app called Steemify that tracks any activities (but going live might need another meta tag tracker or something)

Check what I just thought of...

If this APP would accept either an upvote or equally amount of steem/sbd to have access maybe through steem connect automatically to a private live stream!

Wow! Thanks to you Kelvin, indeed this is an eye opener to persons like me. I have some amazing unproduced songs with good lyrics but don't have the courage to bring them out, rather I do songs by other artists but after going through this article on music lover I have resolved to put more work on my own songs for the world to also hear my creativity. Thanks for the inspiration you rock.

Just share it out :) Many things we do goes to waste anyway (at least in my experience!)

That is true and seriously there is no harm in trying anyway new things.

Im passionate about music sadly I can't really sing, I grew up trying to build up my voice and sound but it got more terrible, because the talent wasn't there for me, I killed my singing ambitions, your post made me reminisce those days

The shower head is my biggest fan.

I don't even like my own voice on the recorder, so I've never even considered singing haha!

That first song is soo good! But yeah was thinking of sometimes bringing up some of the hip hop debates I occasionally have with my friends that last for hours, now its a definite and I'll just force my biases on steemit or at least try. Lol. I think a blog of all genres(popular or unpopular) would be nice, talking about their histories and trying to see which ones could complement each other the best.
Alright I'm off to look for more subjects to milk the sh*t out of. Peace!

Nice to know you're into making music mashups too!

I've made about 3 so far, out of which I'm most proud of this one! Honestly, I expected it to be received really well but, my expectation bubble ended up bursting bad. lol

Personally, I like any song that I feel goes well with another. Usually, they're both pop songs, because -

  1. It's well known by people and relatable, therefore better acceptance of the mashup.
  2. It's usually what plays the most everywhere we go, so it'll be stuck in my mind somewhere when choosing songs while creating a mashup.

What kind of mashups are you into?

this is the genre i dig lol https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vaporwave
totally against the grain of popularity

Just listened to a few samples. It's those music in old video games right? I remember that car game which seems to go forever into the horizon. lol
I think I like this music more when it's sped up. Sounds pretty depressive in its original speed, doesn't it?

name a nice and obscure 80s smooth jazz track

Listen to #yunk ムードジェネレータ by Etherpunk #np on #SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/kaiserkev/sets/yunk

Lololol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22