Devils Swill - Poor Coping

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is the fourth song for our album, Of Like Minds. Just released minutes ago. My favorite song yet so far. We also took some fresh photos for the video presentation.

Poor Coping

Sound Cloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-630245045/poor-coping

Lyrics

God damn it
These thoughts I wish I could just scrap it
I drink more and more and think that it
Gets more an more confusing as I stay at it
Willing to admit it, Im longwinded, an addict
And trapped in it
Don’t blink, you might miss it
Twisted, crying, finger on the trigger
Trying to resist it

*** Verse 1 ***

Pacing back and forth In this dark room
On a table sits, a bottle of brown half consumed
Next to a 9 milli, one round, Bad news
Contemplating all the shit that I need to sift through
On the wall a mirror hang
Reflects mistakes and shame
The finger we point to blame
and realize the Pain
as The one pointing back at me is exactly the same
And the spitting image
mimics the monster that's in this cage
Mirror mirror on the wall
who is the most embattled of them all
Appalled by the fading reflection I saw
Got me believing
The threshold I'm reaching, and all of the reasons
Lord, please cleanse this heathen
meaning exercise those demons
With the pen and the pad, my sorrow reads like a novel
Sipping persuasion straight out the bottle
Barrell to my temple, thumbing the safety
Am I going crazy
Nope, this just the way that they made me

*** Hook ***

Im a prisoner in my own mind
Locked up with this screwy looney, Fucking Hard time
My poor coping is the only crime
Can I talk him into walking out this bitch alive

*** Verse 2 ***

1/2 to 3/4 empty
coexist with this menace?
Need to get me modus vivendi
They left me, it test me plenty
Your never ready
When it gets this Messy
Unbearably hefty hence the deadly medley
Poor Coping
Outwardly showing
Easy going
While inside the implosion of emotion is growing
1 swill, 2 minds, 3 swigs, stage is mine
Choke back, don’t cry, its almost showtime
Step down from the chair
Pull the steel away from the hair
The only shot, across the room, a glassy stare
and a brief moment of disappointment we shared
Why you still standing mother fucker, what, you scared?
Absolutely
Aint disputing
life been shity to me, outlook was gloomy
routinely disputing this unruly roomy
Proving swill swig so soothing
HARD TIME
With this screwy looney

*** Bridge ***

A veteran to contemplation
Post traumatic situations
Causing deviation from The
reality that I'm facing
alliteration equating
Swill's carnation, no chasing
This libation making
the medication
that your tasting
Inoculation
For the brash and brazen
Alter ego infiltration
Creating Temptations
Staring down Satan Saying,
Verbatim
Quoth the raven
Nevermore,
Merely this and Nothing more
Tapping the rapping
behind our chambers door

Here he stands
A crumbled man
But still he knows
And understands
Release the action
And it ends
All the potential
All the plans
No reversing it once
The body lands
think his mother
Comprehends
her baby sons
Struggling, internally
contemplating death
But as god as his witness
He quitted the listen
Of caged pervasive quipping
The decision to
Reposition
the pistols mission
Target the reflection
Modus operandi in question
Confessing, poor coping,
The condition that he's expressing
(gun shot)

*** Verse 3 ***

Now barren is the brown jug
9 milli Hammer slammed
and let the righteous slugs dump
Red rum on the looney bum
mirror shards scummed
by persuasive blood and
Lie Where the Tongue
once come from
silence represents the key
to open this door and
Intermittently, believe
That I'm finally cage free
minimizing recidivism
An immediate need
Pardon my skepticism
The reality is it will repeat
I was a CO
I was a Celly
I was a Beast
A warden and a Felon
A bottle and a weapon
The contraband of my epidemic
Infecting everything
In this cycle so systemic
By every metric
charge then swallow
A dramatic Accountability fable to follow
Probably not the best model
But an effective
Poor Coping Mechanism
hard time in this hellish prison

Sort:  

Wonderful lyrics and great it sounds too good awesome to check that out something very interesting : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84