Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 31 – Suzanne Prentice / Brooke Fraser / Anika Moa / @melissakellie / summing it all up

in #music6 years ago (edited)

It’s the last day of May, so let’s look back at the month. We’ve seen heaps of awesome kiwi music, and we’ve barely touched the surface.

nz-music-month.jpg

I had a listen to the video @sift666 shared in the comments a couple of days ago, and it explains very well why so much popular modern music is so bad. Or maybe just "meh". But even more reason to keep looking for the real musicians, who would like to see music be great again. I can't say I cared for a lot of the new kiwi artists I found along the way, but I did like some of them.

Let's move onto the last selection. After this, I think we'll all have a break from music posts for a while! It has been quite a challenge. I've got photos from our trip to Brisbane to share, and photos of silver sent to me by fellow Steemians. And a new recipe.

I’m going to finish off with a few of the female artists that haven’t been featured yet, including another Steemian. Then I’ve included a list of all the kiwi music posts from this month, plus a few older ones.

Suzanne Prentice

A country singer who was active from 1973 and is still entertaining audiences today. Her most well known song was a cover of Crystal Gayle’s “When I Dream” from 1982.

Brooke Fraser

Brooke is a singer-songwriter active from 2002 to the present. So far she has released 4 albums and 9 singles. Here’s one of her first singles, “Lifeline”, from 2003.

Her most successful release was “Something in the Water” from 2010. (Not to be confused with the Carrie Underwood song of the same name from 2014.)

Anika Moa

Active from 1999 to the present, she’s a pop artist with 8 albums and 17 singles under her belt. Here’s “Falling In Love Again” from 2002

Melissa Kellie

Our very own @melissakellie – how did I manage to leave it so long to mention her? Sorry! She is currently living in Australia, near Brisbane, along with her mum, @kiwioz, but is a New Zealand citizen.

I’m having some problems with my DTube, getting video, but no sound. So sadly, I’ve been unable to check out any of her recent posts, and have had to go to Youtube! Here she is with one of her original songs, Never Ending War.

Pop along to her blog for hours of entertainment

https://steemit.com/@melissakellie

Or if you also have DTube problems, check out some more of her work here:

https://www.youtube.com/user/MelissaKellie10

elegant-divider.png

A reminder of our Kiwi Steemian musicians

@kaykunoichi

Kill the Pad - Integrity

@podycameron

From his new EP, being released direct to the blockchain
Drowning
And a 90s style beat

@melissakellie

Too many for me to list them all here, so go check her out here: https://steemit.com/@melissakellie or here: https://www.youtube.com/user/MelissaKellie10

elegant-divider.png

Here’s a full list of all the other posts

Bookmark this post and come back and visit it often. There’s a lot here to check out.

Posts by me @kiwideb

Mostly from my era of 60’s to 90’s, but with a more recent artist in most posts.

60 years of my favourite music – 10 Kiwi classics
Some Maori classics – Now Is The Hour / Pokarekare Ana / Whakaaria Mai and more
The Broods / The musicians in my family
Don McGlashan / Mutton Birds / Front Lawn / Blam Blam Blam / Decades (Ashei)
Bic, Boh & Pearl Runga / Stellar / Amez Amez / Jon Lemmon
Split Enz / Crowded House / Tim Finn / Neil Finn
Th’ Dudes / theSlacks
Topp Twins / Pody Cameron
Allison Durbin / Kunoichi
Blerta / Corben Simpson / Bernie Griffen
Rei / Dalvanius Prime / Maisey Rika
Harry Parsons / Tony Backhouse (gospel song leader)
Dave Dobbyn with DD Smash & Herbs / The Beths
Supergroove / Che Fu / Salmonella Dub
Shona Laing / Sharon O’Neill
Flight of the Conchords / Fred Dagg / Marcus Turner / Gish
Jordan Luck / Dance Exponents / Fur Patrol
Tadpole / Goldenhorse / Michael James Keene
Nesian Mystik / Scribe / Trillion
Crocodiles / Swingers / Netherland Dancing Toys / Peking Man / When the Cat’s Away / Holidaymakers / Revere
Keith Urban / The Adults / Estere / Jess B
Miss June / Die! Die! Die! / Opposite Sex / Astro Children
The Rumour / John Rowles
Marlon Williams / Unfaithful Ways / Delaney Davidson
Aldous Harding/ Lorde / OMC / Coconut Rough / Sisters Underground
Classical – Dame Kiri Te Kanawa / Hayley Westenra / Helen Bowater / Katherine Austin & Linden Loader / Jack Body
Mild Orange / Broods / Straitjacket Fits / The Chills
The Mockers / Pop Mechanix / Scavengers / Suburban Reptiles / Toy Love
NZ Hall of Fame / Johnny Devlin / Hirini Melbourne & Richard Nunns / Douglas Lilburn / Bill Sevesi / Moana Maniapoto

Posts by @sift666

His tastes are a bit heavier than mine.

The Clean
Head Like A Hole (HLAH)
Pitch Black

Posts by @kiwscanfly

Similar era to mine, but a bit more recent

Shihad
The Feelers
Headless Chickens, with Strawpeople in the comments
Patea Maori Club – with that great kiwi classic, Poi-E
Herbs

Posts by @conradt

Some of the more recent bands

Dub & Reggae - Black Seeds / Fat Freddy’s Drop / KatchaFire / Rhombus
Heavy Metal – Beastwars, Blindspott/Blacklistt, 8 Foot Sativa, Devilskin
Solo artists – Hollie Smith, Gin Wigmore, Dave Dobbyn, Lorde
The Classics – Split Enz, Crowded House, The Exponents, Dragon
Rock – Elemeno P / Feelers / Datsuns / Villainy
Best of the Rest – Six60, Flight of the Conchords, The Naked and Famous, Kimbra

And a kiwi cultural classic – the haka.

Posts by @ravenruis

Some especially for music month, but others part of her series on NZ nostalgia. A lot of them are going back into the archives, but there are some recent artists as well.

Although I remember a lot of what she shared, a lot of it was new to me. I had no idea we had so many musicians releasing music back in my youth and before. What a blessing to have so much of our history shared now on the blockchain!

Craig Scott / Hogsnort Rupert’s Original Flagon Band / Dave & The Dynamos / Rob Guest / Steve Allan / Deane Waretini Jr
John Hanlon / Hello Sailor / Coup D’Etat / Mark Williams / Dragon
Bunny Walters, Erana Clark, Nahia Blackmore, Prince Tui Teka, Abe Phillips (The Shadracks), Drut
Bridget Allan, Space Waltz, The Yandall Ssters, John Rowles, Bill & Boyd, Herma Keil & The Keil Isles
Mr Lee Grant, Maria Dallas, John Hore Grenell, Andy Anderson, Ray Columbus
The Simple Image, The Chicks, Ricky May, The Quin Tikis, Nash Chase, Yolande Gibson
Headband, Golden Harvest, Jon Stevens, The Holidaymakers, The Chapta, Ticket
Pixie Williams, Daphne Walker, Dinah Lee, Carol Davies, Max Merritt & The Meteors, Clyde Scott (& the Zanyopolis)
Johnny Cooper (The Maori Cowboy), Peter Lewis & the Trisonic, Glyn Tucker with Ian Lowe & the Tornados, The Four Fours, Sandy Tansley
Bobby Davis & the Dazzlers / Newsounds ft Ray Woolf / Al Paget / Peter Posa / Lou & Simon
Morgan Clark with Benny’s Five / Rod Derrett / Johnny Granger / The Duplicats, with the Johnny Thomson Trio / Esme Stephens
Pat McMinn / Mavis Rivers / Rockinghorse / Mi-sex / The La De Das
January / J ‘n B / Toni Williams / Lutha / The Quincy Conserve / Allison Durbin
The 3Ds / The Knobz / The Narcs / Golden Harvest / Red Hot Peppers
The Radars / Suburban Reptiles / Screaming Meemees / Tall Dwarfs / TrueBliss
Wreck Small Speakers on Expensive Stereos / The Dead C / Plagal Grind / The Double Happys / Bored Games
This Kind Of Punishment / The Verlaines / The Chills / Zed / Working With Walt
Hi-Revving Tongues / The Avengers / Shane / Tom Thumb / Cathy & The Cucumbers
Larry’s Rebels / The In Betweens / Fourmyula / Mutton Birds / Dribbling Darts (of Love)
Ticket / (Blues) Revival / The Clean / The Kal-Q-Lated Risk / The Underdogs
The Dedication / The Kini Quartet / David Curtis / Human Instinct / Collision
The Sapphires / The Rumour / Citizen Band / Tamburlaine / Weta
Vaughan Lawrence / Sonny Day & The Sundowners / The Yeomen / Red Hewitt & The Buccaneers / Terry Dean & The Nitebeats
The Clevedonaires (The Cleves) / Jay Epae / Sandy Edmonds / The Action / Cellophane
Mother Goose / Gwynn Owen / The Embers / The Climax Band / The Ahmed Dahman Group
The Pleasers / Lew Pryme / House of Nimrod / Aardvark / Shirley Kay Angel
Push Push / Strawpeople / Headless Chickens / Children’s Hour / Nocturnal Projections
The Latter Rain / Ragnarok / Zarks / Pauline Bramley / Kim Hart
Amber / Bari & The Breakaways / Windy City Strugglers / Fia Chaplin / Nancy Harrie
Anie Whittle / Timberjack / Rangi Parker / Bulldogs Allstar Goodtime Band / Desna Sisarich
The Androids / Toy Love / The Gordons / Blam Blam Blam / The Newmatics
Beaver / Hammond Gamble / Clap Clap Riot / Goodshirt / Assembly Required
Ballon D’essai / Rooter (The Terrorways) / The Spelling Mistakes / The Bats / Tadpole
25 Cents / The Terminals / Bill Direen & The Bilders / Chants / The Bluestars
Her favs – Mihirangi / Supergroove / Shihad (Pacifier) / Opshop / The Feelers
Full list of artists covered

And if you still want more kiwi music:

This website has a comprehensive list of New Zealand artists for you to check out.

Thanks for listening

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.
If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I am coming to realise working overseas I have really been slack keeping up with NZ Music the only one I knew of was Suzanne Prentice, off now to check out the others

tip!

I have been very out of touch with the new NZ music as well, so it was great to check some out. Though I do have to say I like the old stuff better, mostly.

I am the same I find I now listen to the golden oldies channel mostly a sign of age I guess

Maybe a sign of age, maybe a sign that music isn't what it used to be, maybe both... We watched Deadpool 2 the other night, and some reference was made to dubstep. We had to come home and look it up on Youtube - we were appalled!

I havent watched Deadpool 2 yet but I probably will soon, Apalled at Dubstep I am the same way

Yes I think Most of the mainstream music is not as good in my mind as those fromthe past

Oh wow, you were really organised in linking everyone's posts up. Thanks for including mine. :)

Like you, I want to take a break from music posts for a while, lol. Although they did give me an interesting project to do throughout May without having to do a lot of heavy research.

I think my biggest come-away from the project was discovering some of the 60s stuff especially that really sounded 'international' and I was proud of what we have been able to do - up there with the best of them, really. <3

I agree about the quality of NZ music. I figured that nobody would have been able to check out everything we all posted, but with it all in one place, it gives people a chance to go back and have a look.

This is a superb wrap up of your NZ Music Month series @kiwideb Between you and @ravenruis you have managed to highlight some awesome kiwi singers and musicians. 🎶 Music is in our genes and it has been great to revisit some great artists from the past. Suzanne Prentice was one such artist and I really like Brooke Fraser.......but our very own @melissakellie is my current favourite. I love her voice and her choice of songs.......to me that is real music. I haven’t heard her original one (above) so I think I will treat myself now. Have a fabulous Sunday my friend. 🌺

Since I did this last post, I've been having a bit of a rest from Steemit, as I was a bit burned out. So I did have a bit of a rest over the long weekend. Catching up on comments now. And away with friends this weekend, so will get behind again ;-)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Hi @kiwideb! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday - Downtown Milford Shops Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87