Ulog8 – We’ll be singing in Chinese in our next choir concert, an exciting first!

in #music6 years ago

I haven’t been ulogging because I’ve been working on my Keto & Fasting series, but even so, I was surprised to find it’s been 26 days! But it’s the weekend, so I’m taking a break from nutrition to talk about something more fun.

Sadly, I won’t be able to do the concert, as I’m away at a conference, but I’ll still be at all the rehearsals and will have the fun of learning the songs.

If you’re one of the kiwi Steemians and will be in Wellington on Sun, 16th September, why not head along? It’s free…

Ode-to-the-Moon2.jpg

Hine e Hine

The first song we started learning for it is an old Maori lullaby, written in 1907 by Princess Te Rangi Pai (also known as Fanny Rose Howie) - Hine e Hine. It’s a lovely song and some of the more aged kiwis amongst us maybe remember it as the Goodnight Kiwi song, which played when TV closed for the night, from 1979 to 1994.

I don’t have recording of us, since we’re still learning it. The closest I could find to Julian’s arrangement is this one by the St Joseph's Maori Girls' College.

Our version is a bit faster and is mostly in four part harmony, though us top sopranos do have an extra harmony at a couple of points, making it five parts.

One of the reasons I chose this version is their phrasing of Hine e Hine, which is Hine-e e Hine, the same way we’re doing it. Nearly all of the other versions on Youtube have the phrasing Hine e Hi-ine. They’re still lovely but not the same.

The Moon Represents My Heart

Last week we had the excitement of a couple of lovely Chinese singers come to start teaching us a Chinese song. The English name of it is The Moon Represents My Heart, and it was made popular in 1977 by Teresa Teng. I chose this version of it for you to listen to, as you can see the lyrics and the English translation.

They seemed happy with our first bumbling attempts to pronounce the words, and miraculously we didn’t mangle it too badly. By mid September it should sound pretty sharp in four part harmony.

If you want to hear a different interpretation, here’s our own Hayley Westenra with Taiwanese musician Shin, at the World Games 2009 in Taiwan.

Aroha String Quartet

Also performing, as well as accompanying us, are the Aroha String Quartet. Listen to them playing Haydn String Quartet in C Op 76 No 3 'Emperor' while I tell you about them.

Their website says:

Acclaimed as demonstrating "accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity" (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of New Zealand's finest chamber music ensembles.

Founded in 2004, this versatile Wellington-based quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique, and multicultural innovation.

Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin are original members of the Aroha Quartet. Robert Ibell joined the group in 2009 and Ursula Evans in 2017.

The Aroha Quartet is committed to presenting string quartet works from western classical and avant-garde repertoire to traditional Chinese folk music, as well as works for larger forces through collaborations with numerous high-profile musicians.

I’m really disappointed that I won’t be able to do this concert, and hope I get to see a recording.

Thanks for reading and listening

Top image from the concert poster, videos from Youtube.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Teresa T. ...pretty song and voice.

Yes, her recording is very charming and sweet. It will be fascinating to hear how different it is with the depth of 60 voices or more.

looks alright, but i think you may get sweet & sour memories from this...

Related image

LOVE that beautiful version of Hine E Hine @kiwideb I have a few of the St Joseph's Maori Girls concert songs on my maori playlist. It was lovely to listen to it again.
Singing in Chinese must be an interesting challenge and I can imagine the fun you are having with the choir.
I also enjoyed listening to the sweet voice of Hayley Westenra in duet with Shin. Beautiful! Thank you for sharing this music with us.

Just for a new twist on it, I've just been choreographing a couple of short routines to short edits of both songs for my arthritis class ladies (and not to forget our one gent) - literally less than half an hour ago.

That is very interesting to hear @kiwideb You are a multi-talented woman.

Hi ~ I'm a robot of betty007.I just upvoted your post!
Please come visit me here: https://steemit.com/@betty007
Thanks so much~!!

Hi ~ I'm a robot of lynnhua.I just upvoted your post!
Please come visit me here: https://steemit.com/@lynnhua
Thanks so much~!!

Hi ~ I'm a robot of januschoi.I just upvoted your post!
Please come visit me here: https://steemit.com/@januschoi
Thanks so much~!!

Sounds like a great concert. Nice voices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25