The Story Behind the Songs: Set the Moon on Fire

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Being originally from Spain I guess one should be supposed to have some kind of flamenco background. Of course not everyone in Spain likes flamenco (I'm not a great fan, actually), but it's definitely all around the place, in some sort. Since it's always been popular music, it has been merged with anglosaxon influences: now we've got flamenco-pop, flamenco-rock and blues (Raimundo Amador) etc.

I've been always interested in weird and underground music. Back in the Audiogalaxy days, I remember listening to a flamenco-death metal band, Night to Die. It was a very unusual and interesting kind of crossover.

Once again I didn't mean to write a flamenco sounding song. I was probably practising the minor-harmonic scale, and then trying to find out which chords are formed out of it. Then the progression started to come up kind of naturally.

It's not flamenco at all, academically speaking (if flamenco can even be called "academical", since it's always been transmitted by word of mouth). It's a bit like my approach to what bands like Sepultura did back in the day: trying to integrated local folklore music into rock and metal. So you just take the groove and the scale, and turn it into your own style. It's cool and and a nice way to integrate your roots and link them to your sound, so that is more recognizable and stands out a bit more from the rest of bands. But to be honest I've never written anything like that anymore, for some reason.

By the way, I'm still trying to figure out the time signature, I usually count it in 6/8 but it's not quite right, it's probably a polyrythm since flamenco "palos" (grooves) are not counted by regular beats.

So if anyone finds out, let me know!

Sort:  

Congratulations @lastbullet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85