MUSIC MONDAY - Punk Rock Classics

in #music5 years ago




Punk rock was the music of my rebel years in the 80s.
Punk rock was the sound accompanying the militant struggles of the 80s.
Punk rock was it.


Black block during a demonstration for Hafenstraße,
the squatted houses in Hamburg, Germany in the 80s.




Let´s start with the hymn of solidarity of Punk rock.




The next song gives all the political analysis Punk ever needed. 😘




Brixton 1981




Though predating the riots, no other song became as much a synonym for the Brixton riots as The Clash´s iconic "Guns of Brixton".
While musically, with its strong Reggae influence, a departure from the 1,2,3,4 machine gun staccato of classic Punk rock, its message and attitude make it a classic hymn of resistance against oppression, so classic Punk rock in that respect.
And, last but not least, it gave one of my mates his Punk nick name, => Ivan! 😎




A documentary of the Brixton riots, their causes and effects

Sort:  

Guns of Brixton is one of my all time favourite songs....

Very British choices there... and all say it too... Anarchy in UK, Brixton and then the first one of Sham 69 in front of W1 address.

I'm a little younger than you and a long way from Europe, but still these songs are in my nostalgic memories!!

I remember being in London when Strummer died, me and my ex (he was my ex then but my son's Dad and I was staying with him) sat up drinking all night listening to The Clash. A good memory.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71