The Music Business Can Do Better Or Is It Us

in #music6 years ago

Greetings Steemians

After reading a recent article http://loudwire.com/mastodon-bill-kelliher-music-business-artists-will-disappear/ where Mr. Bill Kelliher speaks on what will happen to artist if the industry does not get with the times, I felt compelled to write a Steemit blog about my thoughts on the subject.

Now, given my thoughts are just that, my thoughts and heavily influenced by my own experience and genres that I have walked with my whole 31 years of my musical journey. My question is and always has been on the fairness of it all. Even back in the early and mid 90s when I could make a living playing covers in dive bars down on the gulf coast, it was as the Woods Of Ypres song describes as halves and quarters. In other words it has always been hand to mouth for me and I always had to have a full time job if not more than that to support my family. Back in those days I was young, had one kid and a wife and we didn't care about much but sex, drugs, and rock & roll. So the lifestyle was way more important than pay, but it still had it's place.

me in 95.jpg
This is a photo of me playing a gig at a pool hall in 1995

Back in those days (at least on the gulf coast) we didn't hear things like "you're playing for the door" or "you gotta put asses in seats" etc. We booked the gig and the venue gave us a before agreed upon amount. They didn't take a cut of merch. There are still venues who pay that way if you look hard enough, and don't get me started on the playing for exposure bullshit.

i9 at the vinyl in Atlanta.jpg
The last full band I've played in Incarceri 9 playing at the Vinyl in Atlanta GA around 2009

Fast forward to the 21st century and that's almost all you have for bands are pay to play venues, you can't sell your music to most people on the internet because they can just stream them for free...

Well honestly as much as it does and has pissed me off in the past, we know how it is with music right? So if we choose to do it still, then we do it because we love it. I myself can honestly say I feel sick if I miss one day playing my acoustic. Do we not publish our music and boycott Spotify or other streaming services? I dunno, we could. I'm not because I actually buy music. I also pay for Spotify and have discovered music on there. If I like it, I'm ordering it on Vinyl.

Perhaps it's the entitlement the internet has created? I think things like Choon, Steemit, Musicoin etc. are all great avenues for selling music and if you think about it, what if Mastodon got on any of these? They'd make a killin wouldn't they?

I'm not a preacher of any subject but I'd like to think that taking the bull by the horns as it were and using these new tools could work out way better than to go before Congress. Now I'm not going to say they couldn't effect some change by doing this and it's great these guys are doing something, but in the internet age I think they could also make more money so they wouldn't have to tour non stop by using these platforms based on the blockchain.

That being said, I'm going to plug some works from some great Steemian artist who are putting music out to the masses
CoD_Dark2000px.png
https://www.facebook.com/circleofdeathrecords
https://circleofdeathrecords.com/

Rachell's new single "Restless Minds" @thomasrobertgent and @kirvic-aguilera
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F9RXFPK
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/restless-minds-single/1408371216?app=apple%20music&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Sacrifice The Truth's new single "My Wings" @rockchickjen and @hangrydwarf
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/my-wings-single/1406513977?app=itunes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07F6WNVL2

Davood Faramarizi's single "Circle" @davidfar
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/circle-single/1369681110?app=itunes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4
https://play.google.com/store/music/album/Davood_Faramarzi_Circle?id=Bj544727dakeochsonzlby2juga

Tom Gent's EP "Tactical Response Unit" @thomasrobertgent
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/tactical-response-group-ep/1368911250?app=itunes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4
https://play.google.com/store/music/album/Tom_Gent_Tactical_Response_Group?id=B2mrhyykn5eelwbr2w4jlcvrcqy

Morktra's Full length album "In The Earth I Will Be FRee" @lk666
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/in-the-earth-i-will-be-free/1375058606
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CJXZC6J

metal-tribe-steemit-banner.png
Join the Metal Tribe Of Steemit https://discord.gg/Aqp4Z2X

peace and love.jpg

Sort:  

Great article brother, and I have to thank you for all the kind works you do for us, thanks for supports, Its really great to see your old photos, you had much great days in past, I mean for having fun with music and being on the stage with band, that's really great. and those photos are really awesome! \m/

Thanks brotha, it's my pleasure to do Circle Of Death. I think of it as more of a co-op than anything else. I miss those young and crazy days, especially the 90s. It was such a great time for heavy music.

We were actually talking about this at practice the other day... we're having a problem finding anywhere around here that will let us do an album release show with out US having to pay out the ass to rent the place and pay for the bar ect... it's bullshit but... I don't think that things like music streaming are hurting that in any way... Album sales, yes well because let's face it. CDs don't last long and are pointless when you have things like spotify. BUT I still believe that, despite the hard life of the musician, these tools have only helped the little guys.

This is the first time I've been able to have my music on a site where anyone in the world can listen to it/download it and actually get paid for it, even though it's a small amount. The exposure alone is worth it. And because most bars are requiring a listen to your music before/if they hire you, this is a helpful way to just say "boom it's on this site". Looks more professional when you have those resources too.

Great post and loved the pic of you by the way! ;)

Yeah I agree. I think in these modern times musicians should try everything and do as much as possible. Either companies like Spotify will be forced into raising their rates by the Government, or the market will force them to because of sites like Choon and Musicoin. The latter would be preferable to me since I like the free market making decisions instead of government. It'll happen either way. I also think the general public need to appreciate the arts like music more than the almighty dollar. There are thankfully a good few out there that try to show support to artist and musicians.
Thanks @rockchickjen <3 That pic of me was my angry 24 year old self back in the day. It was all sex, drugs, rock & roll, and of course Satan back in those days \m/

Agreed! It's always better when the market makes the decisions instead of involving the government any more than necessary... And I also agree with people appreciating the arts more. Seems like this world has gotten to the point to where nothing impresses anyone anymore. And that is horrible because there is great in everything if you just choose to see it.

"Angry 24 year old self... all sex, drugs, and rock & roll..." Hell yeah dude! That's when you know you had a great young adult life. ;) Gotta say, you look kinda funny without the goatee though... HAHAHA!!!

Indeed, the internet has such the potential to bring to the light true art if it is allowed to do so by not just the powers that be, but more importantly the people in general.
I had a teeny tiny one on my chin which is a very small chin at that.

Great music. awesoem post thanks for share.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lk666 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11