@luts - Music life 2011-2018

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hodly-hoo.

In this post, I want to share my life and music world with You.

I think I was 6 years old when I first heard the word music school.

My mum saw an advertisement in the newspaper and asked me if I'd like to go to music school?

At first, it felt weird.

I don't know anything about instruments? Are they going to make me sing every day? Is it far from home? I had more than a handful of questions.

But I said yes and I think, that this is one of the best decisions of my life. We called to the music school's secretary and asked if there are any available instruments and teachers and can we register?

She said of course and invited me to sample-classes, I enjoyed those, so about 3 months later I took an admission exam. Now I was officially a music school student.

Well now, I had to make a big decision. Which instrument? I had one book that talked about instruments and I saw trumpet's scheme there. I fell in love with it.

Huh! That decision wasn't that hard at all!

Source

First years

First years felt great! We learned many new instruments in solfeggio classes. We played drums, xylophones and sing a lot. I made small but confident steps in my trumpet life. I think I performed like once a month.

Braces


Source
Everything was wonderful, but-but. My teeth were tilted. There were no other ways. I had to get braces...

I came home with braces. They felt funny in my mouth and my teeth hurt. I couldn't imagine playing the trumpet with my mouth the way it was. My teeth just hurt too much.

Some days later, the pain decreased a little bit or maybe I was just getting used to it. I opened up the case and put the mouthpiece in the trumpet. The mouthpiece sat on my lips like I had never done this before.

It just felt so bad. Hughh.. I played a few more tones. They all sounded terrible. Tried one more time. Just pain, no good sound. I put my trumpet back in the case, shut it, and feel like quitting.

I got my braces off!

It felt great! It was one of the happiest days of my life. Literally, everything seemed to be so good on that day. My sound recovered slowly but now it was weird to play without braces! Hehe.

Around that time my teacher wanted me to kinda upgrade so now I didn't have to play with a small pocket-trumpet. But with a full-length Bb Trumpet.

Orchestras

I'm playing in the following compositions:

  • Viljandi Noorte Puhkpilliorkester - VNPO - I joined 2013 - Brass orchestra

  • Viljandi Youth Brass - I joined 2016 - VYB - Brass ensemble

  • Eesti NoortePuhkpilliorkester - I joined 2017 - Estonia's youth brass orchestra

  • Viljandi Noorte Sümfooniaorkester - I joined 2017 - VNSO

Renovation

3 years ago, we had to move away from our music school's main house. We had to practice 2.5 years in an old crappy house - it was an art school before we moved in. Now the renovation of our music school's main house is done. The house still smells new and we have a lot better atmosphere there now. I love it.

Performances and trips

As I mentioned before, in like the 1-3 grade I had 1 performance per month. Nowadays, in the busiest times, I have 4 performances per week.

Viljandi city supports our music school in many ways. It buys new instruments for us, it donates to our school, so we can have concert tours.

Normally we have 1 big concert tour with each orchestra. And I'm in four different compositions so that means 4 (or more) trips per year! The latest trip was a trip to Spain. We gave 5 concerts there.

Other instruments

The trumpet is not the only instrument I play. I've learned acoustic-guitar for about 4.5 years. Drum set for about 2 years.
I had singing classes for like 5 years too, but I wasn't enjoying it that much so I thought that this is just money wasting for my parents. I stopped singing.

It isn't as beautiful as it seems

As I said. Four years ago my teeth were tilted and I had to get braces. I wore them, recovered. Played nicely again. But it took a lot of time and my skill decreased a lot. But now, 4 years later, my teeth are getting little tilted again. Not as bad as before but it's not good anyway! I really hope that I don't have to get braces again and I hope that there is orthodontist that has a membership with Invisalign in Estonia. You probably didn't understand what Invisalign is.
I'll drop a picture here.

Source

Now

I'm hitting my first clear C's in the upper register.

If anyone is interested, then these are the pieces that I'm currently playing.

  • Andante et allegro

  • Aragonaise

There is some photos of our music school and its students

-thanks

Sort:  

What a great story about the beginning of your musical life. I have never played an instrument. I am trying to learn the guitar right now but it is tough. LOL I can't imagine trying to play with braces. I had braces 8 years ago and playing an instrument with them would have been tough.

Yup. It's close to impossible... But thanks for your comment. You should teach yourself something easy like piano but guitar is nice too

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22