“Dance Me to the End of Love,” covered by Madeleine Peyroux … (Jazz / Folk – Music to Your Ears, Covers–21)

in #music5 years ago

This magnificent version proves that it is one of greatest songs of its time.

Madeleine Peyroux – “Dance Me to the End of Love”

“Dance Me to the End of Love” (2011 – original from 1984)

This a superb jazzy version of Leonard Cohen’s marvelous celebration of life and love.

Madeleine Peyroux took the original folk version and transformed it it into a smooth, mellow jazz song – while retaining the sublime beauty of both the music and the vocals.  

Among the Greats and the Greatest

As more than a few reviewers have noted, Peyroux’s vocal phrasings and tempo are reminiscent of the great Billie Holiday, as well as of other fine vocalists such as Edith Piaf and Ella Fitzgerald.   

It has been said that “Dance Me to the End of Love”  is “on the brink of becoming a standard.”  This magnificent version pretty much ensures that it will eventually be ranked as one of greatest songs of its time.

Madeleine Peyroux

Madeleine Peyroux is an American jazz singer. She was the child of “hippies”  and “eccentric educators”  who guided her towards a career as a musician.  

Wandering and Shuffling 

Following her parents’ divorce, Madeleine and her mother moved to Paris. While still in her teens, Madeleine started singing with wonderfully named vintage jazz bands like “Riverboat Shufflers”  and “The Lost Wandering Blues and Jazz Band.” 

B-B-Best 

In 2007, the BBC Jazz Awards recognized Madeleine Peyroux as the “Best International Jazz Artist.”    (Image source)

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin 
Dance me through the panic 'til I'm gathered safely in 
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove 
Dance me to the end of love 
  [2x]

Oh let me see your beauty when the witnesses are gone 
Let me feel you moving like they do in Babylon 
Show me slowly what I only know the limits of 
Dance me to the end of love 
  [2x]

Dance me to the wedding now, dance me on and on
Dance me very tenderly and dance me very long
We're both of us beneath our love, we're both of us above
Dance me to the end of love
  [2x]

Dance me to the children who are asking to be born
Dance me through the curtains that our kisses have outworn
Raise a tent of shelter now, though every thread is torn
Dance me to the end of love

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic till I'm gathered safely in
Touch me with your naked hand or touch me with your glove
Dance me to the end of love
  [3x]   (Image source)

        Leonard Cohen – “Dance Me to the End of Love”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Leonard Cohen, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears” ...

          Previous posts in this series – "Cover Versions 1–20"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

Definitely excellent song and very good I have taught my wife. I hope that she always dances with me until the end of love.

great topic.

Greetings my good friend that the law of the universe bless you.

Glad that you agree that it's a truly excellent song. Here's a version by the original composer, the great late Canadian poet / singer Leonard Cohen https://steemit.com/music/@majes.tytyty/dance-me-to-the-end-of-love-leonard-cohen-folk-jazz-music-to-your-ears-27

Hope your dancing and your love NEVER end!

What a subtle and romantic piece of song... Thanks for sharing!

Yes, it's essentially beautiful poetry, set to fine music, and performed by a talented band and marvellous singers!

Hello

This is a beautiful piece of music. I am happy to see this on the trending page!

Thanks, glad you like it.

I've always loved this song Cohen was one of my favorite song writers. This is one of many treasures he gave to this world before moving on.

Posted using Partiko Android

So true. He gave us many wonderful treasures, and thru them, his spirit and heart live on among us.

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71