“Stay the Same,” by Bonobo, with Andreya Triana … (Down-Tempo / Nu Jazz / Electronica – Music to Your Ears–26)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Multi-layered atmospheres, backed by light and gentle rhythms and rich, deep vocals.

Bonobo – “Stay the Same”

“Stay the Same” (2010)

At the beginning of this soothing live work from Bonobo, it’s not exactly a tune, but an enchanting collage of harmonious sounds and rhythms. The sounds combine into what the BBC called “multi-layered atmospheres,”  all backed by light and gentle rhythms and the rich, deep vocals of Andreya Triana.  

Nu Jazz, Nu Ambient

As in many of Bonobo’s live performances, the band adapts the electronica of the studio recordings, adding various horns and strings, and, of course, the beautiful live vocals. The warm organic arrangements have been called “nu jazz”  and “ambient world electronica.”  

Bonobo

Bonobo is the stage name of the British musician Simon Green. (And, yes, that moniker is a nod to the “bonobo”  chimpanzee, the closest relative of humans.)

His first album, in 2000, brought him a cult following, which has stayed with him and grown as his music has evolved.    (Image source)

Beyond Borders, Beyond Genres

While Bonobo started out working in trip-hop, his more recent work has taken in the influence of jazz, ambient, and ethnic music.   

In 2018, Bonobo’s 6th album, “Migration,”  won the “Album of the Year”  award at the Electronic Music Awards. He continues to collaborate with various artists.

A night train.
Midnight.
Bags gathered round my feet.
Possessions,
some lessened,
to carry with me.
Heavy and soothing.
Like a gentle symphony.

I rest my head right
back upon my seat.
It's hard and cold, though,
the best thing for me.
This train is movin'
but my heart is stationary.

Seasons change,
it will never be the same.
I'm hopin' I won't stay the same.
Reasons strange.
Why we all must play these games?

I left it with you,
a note that was discreet.
I made sure I put it
upon the cellar door.
It's hanging, hoping,
will you read it while I weep?

Last time, the last time, it flickers through me.
So vivid, it rushes
from my head down to my feet.
We're laughing, joking,
through a dance to my defeat.

Seasons change,
it will never be the same.
I'm hopin' I won't stay the same.
Reasons strange.
Why we all must play these games?
  (Image source)
Lyrics by Andreya Triana, Mark Pritchard, Simon Charles Green, Jack Andrew Lewis Wyllie, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – YouTube.com

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  

Sort:  

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75